2 SATAIII SSD in RAID?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by altecXP, May 17, 2011.

  1. altecXP macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    #1
    I'm looking at getting the new Force 3 SSD, its only $219 for 120GB, but I'm debating getting 2 of them to RAID. Does anyone have 2 SATA3 SSD's in RAID in their MBP yet?
     
  2. JasonH42 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    #2
    Yep, got twin 240GB Vertex 3s in mine configured for RAID 0 and they work fine. They'd work even better if the machine had two SATA 3 ports, but that's another thread...
     
  3. altecXP thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    #3
    Well mine does. :)

    So you are limited to SATA2 speeds then? Why did you buy SATA3 drives?
     
  4. JasonH42 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    #4
    How about because the main port is SATA 3 and I get over 500Mbps?

    My plan is to buy a new machine in the hope I'll get 6/6 and sell this one on eBay.
     
  5. johnnj macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    Location:
    Not here
    #5
    Is your config in your sig not up to date? Looks like you're running an SSD/HDD combo.

    I have 2x SATAIII drives with the ODD port at SATAII. The two drives together give me faster r/w benchmarks than the best case stated specs by Crucial. So, there still is a benefit to a RAID0 pair with the disparate port speeds. At least that's how it looks to me.
     
  6. altecXP thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    #6
    I thought that both drives would negotiate back to SATA2 speeds making it useless to have a SATA3 SSD.
     
  7. altecXP thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    #7
    I am running that combo, why?
     
  8. JasonH42 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2010
    #8
    They don't.
     
  9. johnnyturbouk, May 17, 2011
    Last edited: May 17, 2011

    johnnyturbouk macrumors 68000

    johnnyturbouk

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    Location:
    on the yellow [oled] brick road to tech nirvana.
    #9
    so to clarify you have x2 sata 3 drives - crucial c300 over sata 3 interference - main HDD + ODD

    What stripe size are you using?

    What are your benchmarks of x2 c300 ssds in RAID 0?

    How are u're random 4ks, as i have heard from many that random 4k (?write>read) have little benefit from a raid 0 setup - sata2/3!

    my ideal would be: x2 vertex 3 max iops in RAID0 - 64-128kn stripe size :D

    i would not even consider a drive with rubbish GC to raid0

    other things that puts me off is reliability going down the drain once raid 0 has been instituted.
     
  10. johnnj macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    Location:
    Not here
    #10
    Sorry, I misread your comment and thought you were speaking from experience on RAID0 with 2x SATA3 ports.
     
  11. johnnj, May 17, 2011
    Last edited: May 17, 2011

    johnnj macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    Location:
    Not here
    #11
    Both drives are SATA3, ODD port is SATA2.

    64k

    This is about average but results vary.

    [​IMG]

    I ran RAID0 Vertex 1 drives in my old 2009 MBP for more than 2 years and had no problems with reliability, which makes it 100% more reliable than my current car which cost 110x the cost of a pair of Vertex 128 gig drives in 2009.

    RAID0 is inherently more susceptible to failure than other multi-drive configurations, but that doesn't mean it craps itself at the drop of a hat. Any drive can fail. That's why we all make frequent backups, right?
     
  12. johnnyturbouk macrumors 68000

    johnnyturbouk

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    Location:
    on the yellow [oled] brick road to tech nirvana.
    #12
    @johnnj

    thanks - really been itching to raid two 240gb ssds - but i only have 6/3 sata interfaces - hdd/odd so x2 v3 wouldn't make sense and the cost could not justify the expense.

    I may, sell this machine and cop a 17" 6/6 setup - or pray for a logic board failure :p

    also, x2 vertex 3 in rad0 would be amazing - drool over having >1gb/s seq read

    however, i can cop x2 c300 for pretty cheap, and run them of sata 2 - again compared to x1 v3 and a c300 in optibay - would there be any significant gain in x2 x300 in raid0...

    decisions, decisions
     

Share This Page