2 SSD in the optibay - a naive dream or realistic ?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by CHSeifert, Apr 24, 2011.

  1. CHSeifert, Apr 24, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 24, 2011

    CHSeifert macrumors 6502

    CHSeifert

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Location:
    Copenhagen, Denmark - Scandinavia
    #1
    Hey,

    I wonder if you could feed 2 SSD drives with enough power from the SATA cable and use a split for both data and power and run 2 SSD in the optibay in the iMac :)

    So 3 ssd drives + 1 3 TB HDD total would make this iMac somewhat of a Harddrive monster !

    Is it possible ?
     
  2. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #2
    Why would you do that? There is only one SATA 3Gb/s connector so the speeds won't be any faster. Also, I'm sure that at least two 2.5" drives won't fit. Two 1.8" might although I doubt that too (you need space for SATA multiplier etc).
     
  3. CHSeifert, Apr 25, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 24, 2011

    CHSeifert thread starter macrumors 6502

    CHSeifert

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Location:
    Copenhagen, Denmark - Scandinavia
    #3
    I'm hoping it's a SATA 6 connector in the new iMac ;)
     
  4. joelypolly macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2003
    Location:
    Melbourne & Shanghai
    #4
  5. hehe299792458 macrumors 6502a

    hehe299792458

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2008
    #5

Share This Page