Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

bkredhot

macrumors newbie
Original poster
May 25, 2013
Hey everyone, Ill admit it from the start, I am a novice, so forgive me... but I need help, got a macbook pro, iMac, 2 ipads 2 iPhones, 2 PC's, and a partridge in a pear..... you get it...

I have 3 kids and TON of videos,and i want to download all of them to my TC and stream to my Sharp 60" wifi (love this TV BTW) I want to create a file on my TC that has just movies and use it as a network...

i saw that it CAN be accessed from internet.. great.. but inside the TC can structured files be made OR is there an outside program that structures the movies in the TC..

I want to watch movies whenever I have a network connection, to much to ask?? Do I need apple TV and is this what it does? sooooo grateful for anyones time Thank You

IlikeMacsSoMuch

macrumors 6502
Dec 30, 2009
Blainville, Province of Quebec
Hi, are your videos drm free? I mean did you buy them on iTunes? If you bought them on itunes you'll need an Apple tv and a computer running iTunes

----------

The Apple TV does exactly that by the way but not from a network drive

waw74

macrumors 601
May 27, 2008
as long as the TV supports DLNA, you can use plex.
you will have to have a computer on and running the plex server, but it can access the media on your time capsule.

bkredhot

macrumors newbie
Original poster
May 25, 2013