2 USB drives attached to Time Capsule in RAID configuration?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by DTphonehome, Sep 29, 2008.

  1. DTphonehome macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2003
    Location:
    NYC
    #1
    Anyone know if it's possible to attach two USB hard drives to a Time Capsule via a USB hub, and configure them in a RAID1 configuration and use them as my Time Machine backup disk? I would then use the TCs internal drive as network storage.
     
  2. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #2
    The TC itself would have to support RAID. And it doesn't.
     
  3. DTphonehome thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2003
    Location:
    NYC
    #3
    Thanks for the reply.

    Doesn't OS X allow you to specify any two drives and rope them together into a RAID1 array? What does the TC's support (or lack thereof) have anything to do with it?
     
  4. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #4
    Yes, if they are connected to a machine running OSX. When you read/write to/from a TC the computer does not write to the disks itself: it uses a network file system protocol to write to the TC. The TC is in charge of the disks and writing to them.

    If I understand you correctly what you are asking is can you RAID the two separate network mounts from the OSX machine? Perhaps, but I don't think so as the OSX machine has to be able to format the drives to use them in a RAID configuration and you can't format them across the network (see above about what's in control of the drives).
     
  5. DTphonehome thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2003
    Location:
    NYC
    #5
    Ah, OK, I get it. How about connecting a 2-disk RAID enclosure to the TCs USB port then?
     
  6. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #6
    If the RAID enclosure does it's own RAID thing and just appears as a single drive on the USB port then yes, that should probably work, although you might have to set it up directly connected to a Mac first to format it to HFS+...
     
  7. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #7
    Such a product does exist. :D
    Here's a listing from newegg.
    IIRC, some members have recommended the G-Tech products. It also was made to compliment the Mac Pro appearance wise. ;)
     
  8. Robocopper macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    #8
    Seems that Apple have the answer nicely here:

    http://support.apple.com/kb/HT2421

    Here is some of it:

    Time Capsule
    Single self-powered USB hard disk (with support for Time Machine backups)
    Single USB printer directly into the USB port, or several printers connected to the base station via a powered USB hub
    Using a powered USB hub you may connect several hard disks and/or printers

    AirPort Extreme Base Station with 802.11g, AirPort Extreme Base Station (PoE/UL 2043)
    Single USB printer

    AirPort Express Base Station 802.11g
    Single USB printer directly into the USB port
    Additionally, with AirPort Express firmware 6.1 or later, you may use the Keyspan Express Remote. If you want to use the remote and a printer at the same time, it's OK to use a powered USB hub to make that possible.

    AirPort Extreme Base Station 802.11n with Fast/Gigagbit Ethernet
    Single self-powered USB hard disk
    Single powered USB printer directly into the USB port, or several printers connected to the base station via a powered USB hub
    Using a powered USB hub you may connect several hard disks and/or printers

    AirPort Express Base Station with 802.11n
    Single powered USB printer directly into the USB port, or several printers to the base station via a powered USB hub
    Additionally, you may use the Keyspan Express Remote. If you want to use the remote and a printer at the same time, it's OK to use a powered USB hub to make that possible.
     
  9. randolphsw macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2012
    #9
    Have you come up with a solution? If so I'd love to hear it. I have a 2TB hd connected to an airport extreme and I'd like to "raid" it for protection...
    Thanks
     
  10. skorpien macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    #10
    First, RAID shouldn't be considered a form of backup. Second, as was stated, it's impossible to RAID USB disks attached to the Time Capsule (or Extreme).

    You would need an external multi-bay RAID or NAS enclosure.
     
  11. randolphsw macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2012
    #11
  12. edk99 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Location:
    FL

Share This Page