2 versions of Windows on the same Mac?

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by Ozz, May 27, 2008.

  1. Ozz macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    #1
    Hi, I installed Vista 64bit SP1 and it's running flawlessly. However, I need XP Pro SP3 on the same machine and Bootcamp will not let me make a new 30GB partition on the main drive. My only option is to use another disk but I can't at the moment.
     
  2. jeremy.king macrumors 603

    jeremy.king

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Fuquay Varina, NC
    #2
    Can you run in a virtualized environment? Parallels or Fusion or even Virtual PC on the Vista side.
     
  3. Ozz thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    #3
    Hi,
    thank you for the reply.

    Unfortunately I need to run in native mode. I'm very familiar with how bootcamp works but I am scratching my head with this one.
     
  4. Glen Quagmire macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    Use a partition resizer from within Windows to add a new partition and install from there. You don't need to use Bootcamp at all, though you might to use the boot.ini method of selecting which Windows to boot.
     
  5. Ozz thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    #5
    That makes sense...I do have around 50GB left on the Vista partition. I should've made a 100GB partition for Vista :\
     

Share This Page