20-24 megapixels cameras on a 2009? (RAW and video)

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Loa, Jan 10, 2016.

  1. Loa macrumors 65816

    Loa

    Joined:
    May 5, 2003
    Location:
    Québec
    #1
    Hello,

    Right now I'm planning on replacing my aging Nikon D300 when the D500 comes out in a couple of months. My worry is wether my 2009 3.33 Quad (16GB RAM, SATA3 card and SSD) will be powerful enough to handle the RAW and especially the videos.

    Is there anyone here already using a DSLR in the 20-24 MP range on their 2009 Mac Pro? How is it?

    Thanks

    Loa
     
  2. Macdctr macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    #2
    I'm using Lightroom on my 2009 MacPro and have a Nikon D800. I process RAW and have no issues...
     
  3. Loa thread starter macrumors 65816

    Loa

    Joined:
    May 5, 2003
    Location:
    Québec
    #3
    Thanks! Do you use/process video on the D800?

    Loa
     
  4. someoldguy macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Location:
    usa
    #4
    Got a 5D2 and a Leica M9, no problems processing RAW files via ACR and Photoshop CS6 on my 4.1>5.1 . Don't shoot video , though .
     
  5. Macdctr macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    #5
    Sorry, I too don't shoot video with my cameras....
     
  6. Loa thread starter macrumors 65816

    Loa

    Joined:
    May 5, 2003
    Location:
    Québec
    #6
    Thanks for the input.

    Worried about video though... Not planning on shooting 4K often (as I don't know anyone with 4K TV anyway!), but I'm not sure just how easily my 2009 will handle 1080p content.

    Loa
     
  7. Gwendolini macrumors 6502

    Gwendolini

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2015
    Location:
    random
    #7
    Looking at your CPU's PassMark and GeekBench scores it will handle 1080p quite fine if you use ProRes or CineForm inside your NLE (you have to transcode the video to those codecs before editing).
    With UHD you might have some trouble, but why not download some sample HD and UHD footage and see how your computer fares?
     
  8. Loa thread starter macrumors 65816

    Loa

    Joined:
    May 5, 2003
    Location:
    Québec
    #8
    Hello,

    Thanks for the info Gwendolini. I'll have to look up what ProRes, Cineform and NLE are before making any test!

    (My background in video work is basically to upload movies from my iPod Touch to youtube! Hahaha! I'm using iMovie as nothing more than a dump for my 1080p camcorder, and I already find the process long and tedious.)

    Loa
     
  9. nigelbb macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2012
    #9
    My wife has a 2008 Mac Pro 3,1 & a D800. She has no problems using Lightroom & RAW. The 3,1 has been upgraded to 32GB RAM a 1TB SSD & a GTX680.
    --- Post Merged, Jan 11, 2016 ---

    My wife & I have been using our 2008 Mac Pro 3,1s since 2008 to edit 1080p. They did a good job when stock & using FCP6 but do an even better job now upgraded to 32GB RAM 1TB SSD & GTX680 graphics. We use Premiere Pro CC which benefits from CUDA on the Nvidia cards
     
  10. Loa thread starter macrumors 65816

    Loa

    Joined:
    May 5, 2003
    Location:
    Québec
    #10
    Hello Nigelbb,

    Thanks for the info. I'll give my old ADM 6870 a try and see if I really need to upgrade to a CUDA card.

    Loa
     

Share This Page