20" alu imac memory

Discussion in 'iMac' started by brianp, Mar 6, 2008.

  1. brianp macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    #1
    Hi

    I've just bout a 20" 2.4ghz refurb iMac, and i want to upgrade the ram. as there is already a 1 gig module in there, is it ok to fit another 1 gig module from a different brand (either from kingston or crucial), or will this do away with the so called "matched modules" effect?

    Thanks
     
  2. brn2ski00 macrumors 68020

    brn2ski00

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    #2
    No, you can have unmatched pairs. What I would do is spring the $100 and buy 2 2GB sticks, sell the 1GB stick and be maxed out at 4GB. That would be the bomb!
     
  3. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #3
    Brands don't matter. Only size and speed.

    Understanding Intel Mac RAM - Mac Guides
     
  4. brn2ski00 macrumors 68020

    brn2ski00

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    #4
    Yeah because I made the mistake of only buying a 1GB stick of Crucial RAM. No problems though, totally unmatched sticks play well together.
     
  5. AppleFan360 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    #5
    Agree. When I first got my iMac I threw in a second 1GB stick from Crucial. No issues.
     
  6. brn2ski00 macrumors 68020

    brn2ski00

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    #6
    We shoulda put the 2X2GB in... good deal right now
     
  7. AppleFan360 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    #7
    Just did that last week. :)
     
  8. brn2ski00 macrumors 68020

    brn2ski00

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    #8
    Where did you get it from? How much $$$?
     
  9. Morod macrumors 68000

    Morod

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    Location:
    On The Nickel, over there....
    #9
    I got my 2x2GB RAM from Crucial about a month ago. $107 total price and the shipping was very fast! Been working like a top ever since. I did keep my Apple 1GB stick in case I ever need to send this Mac to them. 3rd party RAM will not void the warranty, but Apple will blame any problems you're having on it (so I've read here).
    Morod
     
  10. vansouza macrumors 68000

    vansouza

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Location:
    West Plains, MO USA Earth
    #10
    +1
     
  11. brn2ski00 macrumors 68020

    brn2ski00

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    #11
    Thats good to know.... good price too. I need to pull the trigger pretty quick and max my beotch out! :D
     
  12. AppleFan360 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    #12
    OWC for $95
     
  13. brianp thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    #13
    thanks people. i plan on using it for itunes, word, web etc, but also logic and sibelius. would logic benefit from 4 gig, or wouldn't i notice the difference between 2 and 4 gig?
     
  14. brn2ski00 macrumors 68020

    brn2ski00

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    #14
    Just get the 4GB and be done with it.... you won't have to worry about RAM for a long tme.
     
  15. AppleFan360 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    #15
    I agree. You will want to upgrade to 4GB eventually so you might as well do it now.
     
  16. Leon Kowalski macrumors 6502a

    Leon Kowalski

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    Location:
    Gondwanaland Reunification Front HQ
    #16
    Hard to say. Obviously, both modules in a "matched pair" must be the same
    size, but that might not be sufficient. If you just put in a second 1GB stick,
    I don't know how you could tell whether you're getting the "matched pair"
    performance bump. Not worth worrying about, IMO.


    WRT 4GB kits, here's one of the best buys around: Mushkin "PerfectMatch"
    Apple-specific memory 2x2GB @ $85. Free shipping:

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820146701

    LK
     
  17. brn2ski00 macrumors 68020

    brn2ski00

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    #17
    That is a sweet deal and looks like it is compatible with the Alu iMacs.... I am getting it! :D
     
  18. brn2ski00 macrumors 68020

    brn2ski00

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    #18
    Is it just me or did I just not know that the MBP and iMac took the same RAM... :confused:
     
  19. Cave Man macrumors 604

    Cave Man

    #19
    iMac, MBP and MB are all built on Santa Rosa. Conceivably, they can all take 8 gigs of RAM.
     
  20. Peteybiz02 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2008
    #20
    How hard is it to install the RAM in the iMac? Is there a guide on here anywhere like there is for the MB? Thanks.

    Edit: found it, thanks.
     

Share This Page