Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

farrance

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 29, 2011
Hey guys and girls.. first time posting under a name, long time viewer.

I was recently given a 20" iMac off of my girlfriends family for dirt cheap, it's in an insanely good condition considering its age and it has all the same hardware as it came out of the apple store..

My only gripe is, without sounding selfish. It's sluggish, you can really tell how old it is.

I'm interesting in looking into methods and upgrades in order to bring it up to speed a bit. I'm a photographer and I do a heck of alot of work in lightroom I also do some video work.

Aside from the RAM, which is going to be going in literally as fast as humanely possible, I was wondering which other methods to try. SSD's and such.

I've looked into a few things and I noticed that apparently some SSD's have backwards compatibility problems and that they can cause fans to run at very high speeds?

Also, is it possible to put 8GB of RAM in, not just 4GB?

Another also! Is it possible to have an SSD AND a HDD? That would be ideal if it was at all possible. The speed of the ssd for the programmes and the capacity of the HDD would be perfect.. mmmmm :)

Any information would be amazing, I'm looking forward to being part of this forum!

:apple::apple:

The short story of my post is this!
I have a 20" 2.4GHz iMac and I want it to be as fast as it possibly can be. SSD's, a bajillion RAM. Whatever it takes, I need the info! :apple:

Last edited:

farrance

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 29, 2011
TTT!

Someone must have the information I crave! My last boot up of Snow Leopard 10.6.7 took 1:43 seconds!

farrance

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 29, 2011
Ahh.. Apologies to the forum then :/

Well.. I just wanna be able to have it running at maximum speed! If 4GB is the max then thats okay, it's the SSD I wanna try and shove in first!