20" iMac BOX ONLY REQUEST

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Shortia, Nov 27, 2007.

  1. Shortia macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Location:
    France
    #1
    Hi guys,

    I'm at the end of my tether here. I'm trying to get a hold of just the box and packaging for a 20" iMac, the lat models. Not the nice shiny glass ones.

    I threw mine out long time ago thinking I would never need it. Then I moved to France and my poor iMac is just sitting at my parents house...for the last 4 months. I been trying everywhere to get one so I can send it over but nothing....not even eBay!

    Any help will be much appreciated. Even UPS won't do custom packaging for it :(

    *sigh*
     
  2. Leon Kowalski macrumors 6502a

    Leon Kowalski

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    Location:
    Gondwanaland Reunification Front HQ
    #2
    You might get more responses if you mentioned a location. IIRC, when you asked the
    same question on the apple.com forum, the only location mentioned was "France."

    So, is your parent's house in Iowa? ...or maybe Uzbekistan?

    LK
     
  3. jerry1 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    #3
    Any shipping point (UPS, etc...) can box it for you using the latest foam, etc... and protect it just as well. You don't need the OEM box. Just be sure to buy the shipping insurance regardless of the box used.
     
  4. Shortia thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Location:
    France
    #4
    that much is true. Sorry, location is Glasgow, UK
     
  5. Shortia thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Location:
    France
    #5
    yeah, I called UPS in Glasgow.....they say they offered no such service.

    I suppose I could send it with some packaging...take out the insurance and if it gets damaged, claim for a new machine?...
     
  6. gotzero macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Location:
    Mid-Atlantic, US
    #6
    I have an empty box for a 20" ACD and no more monitor. Would this help? I am not sure how close they would be in size, but it is yours for the cost of shipping if it would fit.

    Other than that, take the stand off of the computer, and just pack it up really well. A few inches of bubble wrap all around the computer should be enough to keep things safe.
     
  7. jerry1 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    #7
    Yeah, can't say that I am familiar with UPS services/policies overseas. The insurance money would be paid as long as UPS doesn't conclude that the packaging was insufficient. They might agree to look in the box prior to shipping and let you know if the packaging is okay or not?

    If you have any friends that work for a company that does a lot of shipping (usually electronics products), you might be able to find a good packaging solution. For example, the company I used to work for had an expansion foam spray machine. It sprayed a hot A/B chemical mixture. Onc "A & B" mixed, they turned into foam and expanded quite a bit. If you wrapped the compunter in plastic and used that foam, it would be difficult for UPS to damage the shipment.
     

Share This Page