20" or 24"

Discussion in 'iMac' started by MrGeePee, Dec 17, 2007.

  1. MrGeePee macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #1
    Hi, im going to order a new iMac through Apple within the next 3 hours... I'm not sure which one i should order, i don't want to spend any more than £1,150.

    Please help me out guys!! Thanks.


    * 20"
    * 2 GB RAM
    * 2.4 Ghz
    * 500 GB Hardrive
    * £1,099.00

    OR

    * 24"
    * 1 GB RAM
    * 2.4 Ghz
    * 320 GB Hardrive
    * £1,149.00
     
  2. tersono macrumors 68000

    tersono

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #2
    If you have the space, I'd go for the 24". You can always add RAM and a larger HD later if needed.
     
  3. AlwaysHopeful macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    #3
    If you share the room with family or partner - go for the 20". It's plenty enough for normal computer usage.

    It's what I have.

    If you want full HD for a film etc then you need the 24".
     
  4. MrGeePee thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    Cheers mate

    How much will the extra 2GB ram cost? and is it easy to fit?
     
  5. MrGeePee thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #5
    Thanks allot :)

    Also, ive read that there are a few problems with the 20" (dead pixels and gradient) is this true?
     
  6. acearchie macrumors 68040

    acearchie

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    #6
    My 20" has no problems what so ever, don't bother buying extra ram from apple they over charge so much, if your in the UK there is a thread in my sig that has loads of cheap alternatives, if your in the US ive heard Newegg and OWC are pretty much the cheapest and best.

    RAM should definitely not influence your purchase!
     
  7. newkeyboard macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Location:
    Sussex, UK
    #7
    24" all the way... you can add ram later but you can't add the screen space when you have some spare cash!
     
  8. GregE macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2007
    #8
    I bought my RAM from OWC. It was very easy to install.
     
  9. MrGeePee thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #9
    Thanks allot everyone :)

    If i wanted to upgrade to 2GB of ram, would i only need to buy an extra 1 GB of ram to add to the one that is already inside the imac?

    I have no idea about the technical side of things lol
     
  10. newkeyboard macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Location:
    Sussex, UK
    #10
    I think there is just one 1 gig stick in there so you just have to open the slot and pop in another stick (1 or 2 gig).
     
  11. je1ani macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    #11
    I have a factory sealed 20" 2.0 i'd sell you for a fraction of that price :D
     
  12. MrGeePee thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #12
    Thanks.

    What is the exact name of the RAM i need? are there specific ones just for Macs?
     
  13. newkeyboard macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Location:
    Sussex, UK
    #13
    go to crucial.com and use their memory selector... good prices too :)
     
  14. MrGeePee thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #14
    Thanks.

    Do they deliver to the UK?

    also, should i get the 2GB kit (1GBx2) so i'd have 3GB in total ?

    Thanks allot.
     
  15. newkeyboard macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Location:
    Sussex, UK
    #15
    No you need to get a 2gb stick. there are only two slots and one is already taken up with the 1 gig standard stick. Yup, they deliver to the UK (I just had some delivered to me ;) )

    Hope you're going for the 24" screen... it's a better quality screen and 20 soon seems too small!

    I think this is what you're after:

    http://www.crucial.com/uk/store/mpartspecs.aspx?mtbpoid=6DC2BCBBA5CA7304
     
  16. JayLenochiniMac macrumors G5

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Location:
    New Sanfrakota
    #16
    Definitely get the 24" for the superior screen.
     
  17. tkidBOSTON macrumors 6502a

    tkidBOSTON

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2005
    Location:
    The Hub of the Universe
    #17
    Just chiming in with a vote for the 24".
    I have a 20" G5 and am longing for an Intel 24".
     
  18. MrGeePee thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #18
    Thanks allot!!
    yeah, ill probably go for the 24" :)

    Thanks mate!
     
  19. MrGeePee thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2007
    Location:
    UK
  20. ivan1234 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007

Share This Page