$200-$300 RAID card for early '07 Mac Pro???

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by TheLabbit, Sep 8, 2009.

1. TheLabbit macrumors newbie

I'm converting my Mac Pro into a file server, and want to create a RAID 5 system with 1TB Seagate ES.2 Drives. I would like to use hardware RAID, but Apple's $700 price tag on even the older version of their controller is too much to swallow.

I'm not too familiar with RAID controllers, and I don't know if my price range is reasonable, but I know that many of the newer controllers aren't compatible anyways. I would really appreciate any experience or advice with cards that might be a good solution. Thanks!

2. snakesqzns macrumors regular

snakesqzns

Maybe you should consider buying the 4-bay Drobo instead?

3. TheLabbit thread starter macrumors newbie

I've only heard bad things about performance and reliability when it comes to the Drobo.

I'm a photographer working with large Lightroom libraries and need a solution that is fairly fast(doesn't need to be the fastest) and very reliable.

4. alphaod macrumors Core

alphaod

From reading other threads I have deduced that what your after is possible, but you might not get the best performance. Have you tried just setting a RAID10 with the built-in RAID? You get about 60% of the space of the RAID5, but you get better security, a little faster write (since there is no parity to calculate).

The Drobo is very slow. Only about 30MB/s maximum over FW800.

5. TheLabbit thread starter macrumors newbie

I've tried the software raid, and it seems to do ok - but I've have seen speed comparisons between a dedicated hardware raid and the OSX software raid and the hardware solution always seems to be faster. I'm concerned about the speed primarily because now more than just one user will be accessing the file store at once. Also - I will have a backup set up externally for security.

6. snakesqzns macrumors regular

snakesqzns