$2000 apple gift card, can i get a mac pro cheap? or best advice!

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by CPPhoto, Jul 12, 2007.

1. CPPhoto macrumors member

So ya

i have a 2000.00 apple gift card good for the online store, retail, and phone.

can i get a mac pro under 2 grand? Im assuming it will be the refurb route. I am also a student.

because it is a gift card i am locked in to apple and not other retailers etc.

or would i be better off getting a 24 inch iMac

im a photographer using aperture, CS3, etc etc etc.

i have a 20" ACD already...

2. netdog macrumors 603

netdog

Call Apple about their EDU prices or talk to your school. Here in the UK, HE discounts (higher education) are simply amazing. You should be able to get yourself something nice. Just remember that with 4 cores, you definitely want to get enough RAM.

3. mkgm1 macrumors regular

If you're a student at university you should probably be getting a higher education discount (~15%). But the discount doesn't apply to refurbs.

That should bring the basic stock Mac Pro price down to $2125, and then obviously you might have to add tax to that.

4. xUKHCx Administrator emeritus

xUKHCx

If you drop down to the 2.0 Ghz Mac Pro it comes to be about $2030 with higher educational. You could also take a look at the MBPs.

5. CPPhoto thread starter macrumors member

i already have a MBP.

is the 2.0 a big difference from the 2.6? if i get a 2.0 base config with edu discount, it comes out to 2038 or so before tax.

has anybody bought a refurb 2.0 or 2.66...anybody have any pricing for that since there's only 3.0's in the refurb area right now

how long till a mac pro update? could the 2.6 become the "base model" which would be a big help?

6. xfiftyfour macrumors 68030

xfiftyfour

Of course there is a big difference between a 2.66 machine and a 2.0 machine. However, I'd still opt for the 2.0 Mac Pro above the iMac, personally, since it's far more upgradeable and you already have a screen.