2006 1,1 Mac Pro RAM issues

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by rchaiguy, Nov 29, 2011.

  1. rchaiguy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    #1
    Okay guys, yeah yeah I know my MP is getting old... really old. But I wanted to squeeze any more life out of it by adding some more RAM. I did my due diligence and purchased 8GB of RAM from OWC. I installed it and after rebooting my fans go crazy... full RPM!

    So I pull the RAM modules, clean the contacts and reseat the modules.

    Reset PRAM

    Reset SMC

    and download a memtest and boot into safe mode to verify RAM is okay and not throwing error codes. No error codes.

    After all that, nothing is working. Keep in mind that I did a clean install of 10.7.2 this past weekend so there isn't any crap on my OS.

    It seems like the RAM is putting my MP into Failsafe mode (hence the crazy fan speeds). I tried playing with various combos between the four modules to no avail, each module causes the same issue and the problem doesn't go away until I remove the new modules completely.

    This blows, and it seems that OWC tech support had no clue what was going on.

    So now I am asking you guys, (after searching Google for a few hours) what should/can I do? It seems illogical that each RAM module is bad, more likely it seems that OWC doesn't have thee appropriate firmware or something for my 1,1 2006 MP. I really want that 8GB to work, should I return it and buy Crucial memory (apple doesn't carry "official" RAM for my MP anymore).

    Any help would be awesome! Thanks,

    Ryan
     
  2. rchaiguy thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    #2
    Over 200 views and no response... not a good sign...

    Discouraged. Maybe I should just return the RAM, is that what you guys are thinking? Or any ideas? A new iMac is looking better and better.
     
  3. Draeconis macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #3
    I'd say send your RAM back and get it from Crucial, or Jigsaw. :)
     
  4. Neodym macrumors 65816

    Neodym

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2002
    #4
    A possible problem could be the ranking (i.e. the amount of memory chips on one stick) and the compatibility with the amount of memory channels.

    You may want to read about that here (OWC customer support), here (diglloyd round-up) and here (Anandtech, 1st page giving a short overview of FB-DIMMs specialities).

    Usually the MP 1,1 is very reliable and has little problems with memory. I have only 3rd party modules inside without any problems (2x2GB and 2x4GB).

    Unfortunately you did not give information regarding the amount of modules you purchased. If it is 4 modules, try putting in only 2 for a test.
     
  5. rchaiguy thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    #5
    @ Neodym

    I bought 4x2GB modules from OWC. I tried putting two modules in and still had the crazy fans. I tried putting the modules in different places on the risers and that didn't work either. I know OWC RAM is good it is what we buy for work on all our XServes and iMacs. I just can't figure this out, I doubt it is an issue with ranking, my MP should be able to take 2x2GB modules no problem.
     
  6. gullySn0wCat macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010
    #6
    Did you insert them A 1,2 B 1,2?

    Does the problem return if you put your old RAM back in?

    Hopefully this helps:cool:
     
  7. rchaiguy thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    #7
    Problem disappears when I use old RAM

    With the new RAM modules I put them in order A1,2 B1,2 as well as some other configs to no avail... still have the crazy fan.
     
  8. Neodym macrumors 65816

    Neodym

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2002
    #8
    ?
     
  9. rchaiguy thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    #9
    Like I mentioned in my OP

    The problem disappears when my old RAM is put back in and the new OWC RAM is taken out.
     
  10. Neodym macrumors 65816

    Neodym

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2002
    #10
    Did you try to mix modules, i.e. keep the existing (Apple?) ones in and add two of the new modules?

    Do the new modules have the "big" heatsinks?

    Can you boot into Windows (e.g. to read hardware temperatures)?

    How did you do the PRAM reset? I don't know whether that still applies, but from my Cube days i have in mind that you needed to have the chime sounding twice or better thrice before releasing the P-R-CMD-Option keys.

    Reason was that the PRAM reset was two-fold: In the first round it would not completely reset all fields, so in case the one-round reset would not be sufficient you had to keep the keys pressed for a second or even third chime. You could also tell that the chime was louder the second time...
     
  11. rchaiguy thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    #11
    Answers

    Yes I tried mixing modules and not mixing modules... Still had the problem. The modules do have big heatsinks as they should correct?
    iStatPro is telling me that the nothing is hot enough to have my drives spin at nearly 3k RPMs.

    I did the PRAM reset three times as well as SMC reset. CMD-P-R is how you do it.
     
  12. Garen macrumors regular

    Garen

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Location:
    Los Angeles Area
    #12
    The PRAM reset is CMD-OPTION-P-R not CMD-P-R see the apple link http://support.apple.com/kb/ht1379 I hope this helps.

    Garen
     
  13. rchaiguy thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    #13
    Garen you are right my bad

    It was a long night trying to figure this out, I did do the PRAM reset correctly despite my absent mind in telling you guys how I did it :)
     
  14. Neodym macrumors 65816

    Neodym

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2002
    #14
    Phew - i'm running out of ideas...

    Big heatsinks are recommended by Apple, though not necessary (my Crucial modules have completely flat heatsinks and run at 65-80° C without a problem for years now).

    Does iStat get proper values from the each of the modules' heat sensors? From the CPU upgrade area i know that if certain sensor values are missing the fan control revs up to make sure nothing gets damaged.

    One last resort could be the Apple Hardware Test. If that doesn't help finding the reason for the problem i can't think of anything else but returning the modules indeed...
     
  15. rchaiguy thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    #15
    Neodym

    This is the question, the old RAM works... only the new RAM causes the issue so it would seem logical that the sensors are 1. working and 2. reporting the correct data. I am thinking maybe the FedEx truck got hit by an EMP or some crazy thing because what are the odds that all four RAM modules are messed up? Pretty slim methinks.

    Ryan
     
  16. Neodym macrumors 65816

    Neodym

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2002
    #16
    AFAIK the temperature sensors are sitting on the modules themselves (plus one sensor per tray bay). So if the original modules have working sensors, but the newer one not-working (or at least incompatible) ones, that may explain your problems...

    <Quote from Marcel Bresink's Q&A for Hardware Monitor>
    Why are the temperature values for some of my FB-DIM modules in the Mac Pro or Xserve missing while others are displayed fine?

    This indicates that you are using FB-DIMMs which are not fully compatible with Macintosh systems. In most cases this is caused by errors in the firmware of the AMB chip (Advanced Memory Buffer) controlling the module. You should replace these incompatible modules: If your system is not receiving valid temperature readings from the FB-DIMMs, the cooling control for the RAM temperature zone won't work correctly.
    <End Quote>

    That's why i asked if the new modules give proper (i.e. valid) temperature readings.
     
  17. rchaiguy thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    #17
    It appears then that this could be the case...

    If so there is one of two reasons.

    1. The RAM temp sensor is not compatible (or something along those lines).

    or

    2. The RAM (4 modules) are damaged.

    It seems unlikely that OWC would sell incompatible RAM knowing that I had a 2006 Mac Pro, but even more unlikely that all 4 modules are damaged.

    Time for a follow up call to OWC.

    Thanks!
     
  18. gullySn0wCat macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010
    #18
    Yeah, if your old RAM makes the problem disappear, it's time to return the new stuff and try again.
     
  19. dknightd macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2004
    #19
    Perhaps they accidentally shipped the wrong memory - it happens
     
  20. rchaiguy thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    #20
    I checked the RAM and it "appears" to be correct

    I am having OWC replace the modules with new ones. Crossing my fingers this time. If it happens again I am unsure if any new modules will work on my MP. I will probably try Crucial, if that doesn't work then I will have the insurmountable task of convincing my wife that I need a new machine.... :(
     
  21. t0rr3s macrumors 6502

    t0rr3s

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    #21
    Do let us know how it goes eh? I just ordered me a 4gb kit myself to up my 1,1 to 11gb. My previous rams are all OWC and working great after 4 years. Fingers and all appendages crossed, no issues on the incoming ones.
     
  22. flashtank macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2006
    #22
    dude!

    dude, I am having THE EXACT SAME ISSUE. I have a 2006 v1,1 mac pro and I just bought 12 gig from OWC (in 2gig modules) and my fans are running like crazy. The ram is installed, works, no heat problems, but the fans are on overdrive. I have tried everything you have and NOTHING works. I highly doubt its wrong memory, or damaged modules. I have tried every conceivable combination (1 pair, 2 pair, 3 pair, different risers, etc..) and nothing fixes. SMC, or pram resets don't work...I gave up and installed my old ram, which puts everything back to normal. I don't get it.

    I am awaiting a response from OWC...i just emailed them yesterday but they don't work on weekends...will update when I hear, but let me know how it goes when you get your new memory... I am not holding my breath..I am contemplating returning it and trying my luck with Crucial...everyone keeps trying to push me in their direction. SO FRUSTRATING...How does OWC not know whats going on with this!
     
  23. rchaiguy thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    #23
    I get my replacement RAM from OWC today

    I will let you guys know if the problem persists. I have a feeling it will, if so, off to crucial.

    I think that it would be wise to inform OWC of this issue from multiple users because they seemed unaware of it and confident that their RAM was tested okay in their 1,1 2006 Mac Pro.
     
  24. t0rr3s macrumors 6502

    t0rr3s

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    #24
    I emailed them bringing to their attention this matter after putting in my order. Awaiting their reply.
     
  25. rchaiguy thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    #25
    Okay I got my replacement RAM from OWC...

    I am starting install now.... let you know in a few minutes what my verdict is.

    Ryan

    ----------

    I think they sent me bad RAM or incompatible RAM before... no fan issues, good temp readings... all RAM checks out on memtest.. and much faster.

    Finally, now on to the video card upgrade.

    Thanks everyone for your thoughts and input during this issue!

    Ryan
     

Share This Page