2006 Mac Pro and Snow Leopard

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by netnothing, Jun 15, 2009.

  1. netnothing macrumors 68040

    netnothing

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Location:
    NH
    #1
    I was wondering if any devs can chime in on how the 2006 mac pro (MacPro1,1) will handle Snow Leopard.

    I've read some posts that even the latest developer builds are still only loading the 32-bit kernel on the 2006 Pros.

    I know the 7300GT video card won't be OpenCL compatible, but I'm hoping that this machine will benefit from all the other enhancements in Snow Leopard.

    Thanks.

    -Kevin
     
  2. geoffreak macrumors 68020

    geoffreak

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    #2
    As long as your machine has an Intel processor, I think you will see a benefit with SL.
    I find it odd that the dev builds would be using 32 bit still this late in the dev cycle.
     
  3. Genghis Khan macrumors 65816

    Genghis Khan

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #3
    actually, i've been wondering something similar...

    will the pre-Santa Rosa iMacs/MacBooks/Mini's get the advantages of the 64-bit kernals?
     
  4. mmulin macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    #4
    How can I see whether it uses the 32bit or 64bit binaries?
     
  5. netnothing thread starter macrumors 68040

    netnothing

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Location:
    NH
    #5
  6. TheSpaz macrumors 604

    TheSpaz

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    #6
    Do you think the final Snow Leopard will run 64bit on the 2006 Mac Pro?
     
  7. gugucom macrumors 68020

    gugucom

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Location:
    Munich, Germany
    #7
    Anything else and I would be extremely disappointed. On the other side when have you last seen Apple upgrading anthing that had left their ware houses 3 years ago? No EFI64 on MacPro1,1 comes to mind. So they might take that attitude to 64-Bit kernel as well.:mad:
     
  8. netnothing thread starter macrumors 68040

    netnothing

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Location:
    NH
    #8
    I'd be dissapointed as well. No reason not to support it.

    I guess we get to wait and see.

    -Kevin
     
  9. bozz2006 macrumors 68030

    bozz2006

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2007
    Location:
    Minnesota
    #9
    maybe I'm being dense/naive but I don't see how it makes sense to run anything in 32 bit in Snow Leopard, as the main reason for Snow Leopard is to allow developers paths to more easily increase the efficiency of their software. Running 32 bit operations seems counter-intuitive to me.
     
  10. bozz2006 macrumors 68030

    bozz2006

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2007
    Location:
    Minnesota
    #11
    yes they are. the power mac G5 was also 64 bit.
     
  11. AdvocateUK macrumors regular

    AdvocateUK

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Location:
    Billingham, United Kingdom
    #12
    How curious. I was on the understanding that holding down the "6" and "4" keys on booting would force a boot into 64bit but apparently not on my Mac Pro 1,1.

    I hope it boots into 64bit on release.
     
  12. bozz2006 macrumors 68030

    bozz2006

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2007
    Location:
    Minnesota
    #13
    maybe you're supposed to hold down the "s", "i", "x", "t", "y", "f", "o", "u", and "r" keys...:D
     
  13. AdvocateUK macrumors regular

    AdvocateUK

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Location:
    Billingham, United Kingdom
  14. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #15
    You only have eight fingers?
     
  15. OZMP macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    #16
    mine is running all the apple 64bit stuff... it will be fine, 8800gt will do open CL, or even better, a 4870!
     
  16. bozz2006 macrumors 68030

    bozz2006

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2007
    Location:
    Minnesota
    #17
    On a Mac Pro Classic? I see you have a 2.66 4 core, so it must be the OG Mac Pro.
     
  17. netnothing thread starter macrumors 68040

    netnothing

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Location:
    NH
    #18
    If you click on Software in System Profiler, does it say you have the 64-bit kernel loaded?

    Sadly I only have the NVIDIA 7300GT in my machine which is not OpenCL compatible....although I'm not as concerned about that. I do mostly web development so I don't think I'll see a lot of apps offering OpenCL support (there's no need). I just looking for the core apps to be 64-bit and be sped up in Snow Leopard.

    -Kevin
     
  18. gugucom macrumors 68020

    gugucom

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Location:
    Munich, Germany
    #19
    I wonder if the ATI HD3870 Mac & PC will be CL compatible. Apple would not list it as they do not supply the model, but I would hope that ATI know what they did.
     
  19. Syonidism macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Location:
    Turkey
    #20
    i suppose a mac pro woodcrest with Ati 4890 1Gb will easily support snow leopard and all its functions?? (minus the 64 bit or whatever, too much confusion on that part thx 2 this thread)
     
  20. AdvocateUK macrumors regular

    AdvocateUK

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Location:
    Billingham, United Kingdom
    #21
    Yep and two thumbs......wait! Doesn't everyone?
     
  21. TheSpaz macrumors 604

    TheSpaz

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    #22
    I have good news everybody!!! I was just checking out Apple's Tech Specs for Snow Leopard and they listed the requirements for 64bit support.

    I found it on this page http://www.apple.com/macosx/specs.html

    Sweet! As far as I know, the 2006 Mac Pro has 64bit processors.

    Edit: According to this site, the 2006 Mac Pro sports two 64bit processors (which I already knew but I wanted some evidence to back up my claim... hehe)
     

    Attached Files:

  22. geoffreak macrumors 68020

    geoffreak

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
  23. netnothing thread starter macrumors 68040

    netnothing

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Location:
    NH
    #24
    All of the early Core Duo machines are 32-bit only. Basically the first Intel machines (other than the original Mac Pro).

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_Macintosh_models_grouped_by_CPU#P6

    Other than the original Mac Pro, it wasn't until Sept 2006 that machines were transitioned to the Core 2 Duo processors.

    -Kevin
     
  24. Syonidism macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Location:
    Turkey
    #25
    Okay good news...

    wait what?.. Bad news.

    Conflicting arguments both seems like valid. I'd be pretty bummed if my mac was 32-bit...

    V---My mac---V
     

    Attached Files:

    • conf.png
      conf.png
      File size:
      20.1 KB
      Views:
      533

Share This Page