2006 Mac Pro won't start

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by captainfamicom, Mar 10, 2018.

  1. captainfamicom macrumors member

    captainfamicom

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2018
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #1
    I recently bought a 2006 Mac Pro 1,1. It had no HDD. When powering it on, the power light would flash in no pattern, just on and off. It did not even beep 3 times when ram was taken out. I have just taken both prosessors out and reseating them, but to no sucsess. Any ideas?
     
  2. DeltaMac macrumors G3

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #2
    Which diagnostic LEDs are lit?
    You can find those near the rear of the logic board, under the memory cage, next to PCI slot-1
    Next to those LEDs, press the DIAG_LED (with a long plastic tool of some kind, like the "spudger" that would be familiar to anyone who repairs Macs. :cool: ). That will test LEDs 1, 6,7 and 8. 2 through 5 are normally off, unless there is an error of some kind.
    The various LED colors and patterns can be interpreted in Apple's service manual for the MacPro. (Search for a download for "macpro.pdf" - that should find a couple of different sources for that manual) This should be a good link.
     
  3. captainfamicom thread starter macrumors member

    captainfamicom

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2018
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #3
    The LED's that are on are the ones for power, trickle, and DIMM 1 on riser one. However, the dim light can be resolved if the ram is moved to riser two 9 I have one stick). Even with no ram, the same two lights come on, but no beeps.. The power light flashing is on, off. I even watched it for a minute to look for a pause, but there was no pause.
     
  4. DeltaMac macrumors G3

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #4
    If I understand your post, you need a pair of ram sticks, same size and vendor, not just one stick.
    Have you tried swapping the risers, top to bottom? If you have only one pair, those would go in whichever riser is the top one.

    also note:
    1 flash indicates that no memory is detected, or none is installed. (This is repeating, and I think is what you are seeing_
    3 repeating flashes that repeat means the memory fails the self test, so memory is detected, but fails test.

    So, one beep should indicate that the memory, even if installed, is not detected. Could be incompatible memory, or maybe even that one or both of the memory risers are bad.

    Do you ever get a boot chime, even after trying to reset PRAM/NVRAM?

    You get one beep per second, with no boot chime. And, there's no difference even if you remove ALL ram?
    Do any other LEDs come on if you press the DIAG_LED button? You would particularly look for LED 2 and 3
    Do the fans spin up. then continue to spin? Or, do the fans run briefly, then stop?

    Try reseating the graphics card. If that card has a power cord, make sure it is plugged in properly.

    If nothing else helps, I suspect that you have a bad logic board, but you may want to try different memory riser cards.
    That also assumes that the memory that you have is compatible FB-DIMMs, which should have full heat sinks.
     
  5. captainfamicom thread starter macrumors member

    captainfamicom

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2018
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #5
    When putting either riser in slot one, I still get the DIMM 1 led. The GPU Present light flashes once, then goes back off. I am beginning to suspect bad ram, as I think that riser one is the one that self check is done on.
     
  6. pl1984 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2017
    #6
    Mac Pro 1,1 RAM needs to be installed in pairs. I would recommend the first thing you do is get another module. Here is a low cost option:

    https://www.ebay.com/itm/4GB-2X-2GB...108719?hash=item4b055699af:g:hsQAAOSw3xJXnlSg

    Or double the amount for $5.00 more:

    https://www.ebay.com/itm/8GB-Kit-2X...952537&hash=item4b05569973:g:GIsAAOSwbsBXnlSe

    NOTE: These are not my auctions.
     
  7. CapnDavey macrumors 6502

    CapnDavey

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2015
    #7
    easy fix until you get more ram remove the card with only one dimm on it the mac will run with only one riser card. Also blow all the sockets clean before reinstalling it. I had an issue with my 06 one dimm wasn't showing up FYI
     
  8. captainfamicom thread starter macrumors member

    captainfamicom

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2018
    Location:
    Atlanta

Share This Page

7 March 10, 2018