Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

TCrowe

macrumors regular
Original poster
Jul 14, 2014
Glen Ellen, CA.
After 7 years I got the bug to see how my old Mac Pro worked today(or not). It fired right up and now I'm stuck. I have a very old Samsung monitor, no mouse and various keyboards but no way to log in. Truthfully, I can't remember passwords or which OS it is running unless it is Snow Leopard. I believe I downloaded Lion and have the ISO image still on it. I did this because I upgraded my iMac to Catalina but have any number of old Myst games that I would love to get back into. (I never won any of them!)

I want to get a new monitor for it and am not sure what might be a good enough monitor for Myst etc. and will also work with this old a machine. I am a retired photographer and will not be using it for photography so it will sit here for games and the novelty of having a tower resembling a Mack Truck in my office. It does my heart good to know that I kept it from being damaged through all the Sonoma fires and power outages. They burned right up to my fence where we stopped them in 2017.

pertusis1

macrumors 6502
Jul 25, 2010
Texas
Just ask one of your neighbors if they have an old monitor laying around. Most people have one taking up space they'd be glad to be rid of.

TCrowe

macrumors regular
Original poster
Jul 14, 2014
Glen Ellen, CA.
As I said, I have an old Samsung monitor. I don't remember my login password so I need to bypass it somehow. Can't remember if there is a way to do so.

Soba

macrumors 6502
May 28, 2003
Rochester, NY
I want to get a new monitor for it and am not sure what might be a good enough monitor for Myst etc. and will also work with this old a machine.