2007 2.16 white macbook cracks

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by Austin00, Feb 10, 2010.

1. Austin00 macrumors member

Hello MR,

Just popping by to ask about the cracking problem on the earlier white macbooks.

I rang apple today to ask about whether some cracks in my macbook can be repaired out of warranty and was told a contradicting story that has been documented in the articles concerning the problem, and (most importantly) that i would have to arrange an appointment at my closest apple store (40-50miles away) which is a bit of a tall order as im a money-tight student.

If anyone who knows a little bit about what kinds of cracks constitute as being valid for repair could have a lookee lou at some pictures i just snapped and gave me a bit of feedback, I'd be very grateful

P.S. I do not have applecare

Many Thanks,
    Austin

Crack coming from ESC key (this is the one i am worried about getting worse)
    http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2638/4347536768_83999c9100_b.jpg

Horizontal crack across top of screen
    http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4033/4346765131_eb8fae5efc_b.jpg

Arched cracks along underside of rear vent
    http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4022/4347498890_e9d220f69c_b.jpg

2. Foxglove9 macrumors 65816

Foxglove9

I had my 2 year old Macbook case replaced last year for free (just the bottom half). They also replaced the Logic Board for some strange reason, also for free. And I didn't have applecare they said cracks in the plastic are a known issue and there was no charge.

Not sure you'll have the same luck but it's worth a shot.

3. Austin00 thread starter macrumors member

Ah, thats good to hear. Were the cracks you had significantly more severe than the ones in the links i posted? I'm not keen on being lumped with a hefty train fare to find out I'm not eligible for a repair...

4. Caris macrumors 6502a

Caris

Can you not ring Apple and email who ever you talk to them pictures? I'm sure they could tell you if they will repair it.