2007 iMac help

Discussion in 'iMac' started by cfs123, Oct 17, 2016.

  1. cfs123 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    #1
    hi all,

    I have a 2007 iMac that is in need of help. The screen is starting to dim. Does anyone know if people service these machines? It's an awesome computer and I want to save it as long as possible.

    If possible, I would like to throw in a larger HD as well.

    Thanks in advance. IMG_4735.JPG
     
  2. MultiFinder17 macrumors 68000

    MultiFinder17

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Location:
    Tampa, Florida
    #2
    Half the backLight has crapped out, which generally means a new screen. Bummer mate. It's certainly repairable, but the screens aren't cheap. Check wind with some of your local computer shops, or look up a guide on if it to see if it's something you'd feel keen on trying.
     
  3. Fishrrman macrumors G5

    Fishrrman

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #3
    At nine years old, you might consider putting any $$$ that you would spend on repairing a 9-year-old iMac into something new. Or, something from the Apple-refurbished web pages...
     
  4. elf69 macrumors 68020

    elf69

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2016
    Location:
    Cornwall UK
    #4
    I got one these machines too, awesome machines.

    Ebay has the screens, used from £60.
    Alternatively plug in an external screen and set it to primary?

    I got a 18.5" external at min but about to replace with my 20" cinema screen.

    Shame to chuck it.
    Depending on CPU they can be hacked to run sierra.
    Going to replace my CPU and upgrade to sierra when can afford the new CPU.
     
  5. barbu macrumors 6502

    barbu

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2013
    Location:
    wpg.mb.ca
    #5
    can the CPU swap be done? i have one of these machine, i assume the chip is soldered on... i did upgrade mine to run El Capitan with all the Handoff goodies by replacing the airport card with a wifi ac/bt 4 combo card, well worth the minimal effort (had to hack a mount since the cheap module i bought was the opposite pin orientation of the OEM apple part). Added in a decent SSD and I was very pleased with the result.
    As for OP, i would look for old broken ones with fried logic boards to scavenge a screen from. Use the ext. monitor in the meantime if you can.
     
  6. elf69 macrumors 68020

    elf69

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2016
    Location:
    Cornwall UK
    #6
    I read on ifxit can swap.

    I am going to fit a 2.8 core2duo extreme.
    They use odd socket so do your research!

    I will upgrade to 6GB ram, 120GB ssd and replace DVD with 250GB HDD I have laying around from my macbook I put SSD in.

    I will document the upgrade of CPU when I get it.
    only £40 from china.
     
  7. cfs123 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    #7
    I hear you. It may make sense. I would hate to get rid of it is
    F this is a Mac that one can replace parts easy. I can always fox and give to parents.
     
  8. barbu macrumors 6502

    barbu

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2013
    Location:
    wpg.mb.ca
    #8

    Sounds cool but i don't think that will be able to run Sierra, since i believe that Core2 gen does not do SSE4. I may be wrong.
     
  9. elf69 macrumors 68020

    elf69

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2016
    Location:
    Cornwall UK
    #9
    my macbook 2009 unibody is a 2.26GHz core2duo yet runs sierra.

    Some core2duo chips can have parts unlocked with a hack to run sierra that do not natively.

    I have read of success stories and will try it myself.
    When I do I shall document how I did it for others.

    The original 2.0GHz will not run sierra but some 2.4 and 2.6 will plus the upgrade of 2.8GHz will also work.
    They are all just within the heat limits of the cooler.
     
  10. barbu macrumors 6502

    barbu

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2013
    Location:
    wpg.mb.ca
    #10
    It seems you are correct! I found this elsewhere:

    "Only Penryn Core 2 Duo CPUs implement SSE4. You'd have to upgrade to something like T8x00/T9x00 models"

    So good news if you can find the right CPU that is still compatible with the socket.
     
  11. cfs123 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    #11
    Ok. You are all getting me excited about tge possibility of not having to dump a computer. I hope once I do the research you can all help if I have a question.
     
  12. elf69 macrumors 68020

    elf69

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2016
    Location:
    Cornwall UK
    #12
    T9x00 core2duo extreme are available in correct socket for £41 from china.

    Beware of wif card too as some models do not work with the hack, mine will not but i use lan so not an issue.
    I have a BCM94321MC, this card is not supported with sierra hack.
     
  13. barbu macrumors 6502

    barbu

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2013
    Location:
    wpg.mb.ca
    #13
    I got the BCM94360CD. Worked absolutely flawlessly from first boot (just remove the old BT card at the same time). Just that little pin-out problem that I mentioned, but it's not insurmountable.
    I am kinda tempted to try that Penryn chip now hmm....
     

Share This Page