2007 MacBook, problem getting the CPU to read the OS X disc

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by vince1032, Sep 21, 2013.

1. vince1032 macrumors newbie

Hello all, I am fairly new to using Macs so I am hoping this issue is just a simple resolve for most of you...

A few weeks ago my MacBook froze up while I was on the internet (fantasy football draft to be exact). The colorful spinning wheel came up so I figured it would work itself out and be fine. After 20 minutes of this I decided to just power the MacBook down using the power button. So I did that and when I went to restart it, it wouldn't load past the grey Apple screen with the circular loading graphic. So I mildly freaked out upon seeing this and after not being able to find any help that was working decided to take matters in to my own hands...which was a mistake.

Ultimately that isn't the issue I'm facing now so I'll just go through the bones of what I did. Basically I turned the MyMac part of the hard drive in to the Mac OSX disc (stupid yes I know). I took it to apple care but they would not look at it since it was too old, but the guy thought it was the hard drive. I didn't think this to be true because the CPU still verified the hard drive being intact.

So I took it to a local computer repair place where the guy confirmed that it wasn't an issue with the hard drive but that I had made it so that when the computer goes to boot, it tries to from the OS X cd, even if it isn't in the drive. He said he could fix it for $150 and that he had to just basically re set up the OS. I decided against paying that much to do it because I figured I could find the steps online.

After some searching I was able to find how to delete that partition on the hard drive. And I have done so and now the computer boots up to the Mac OS X utility page instead of the CD.