2008 Alu MacBook (RAM upgrade)

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by BelgianThunder, Aug 10, 2012.

1. BelgianThunder macrumors newbie

I've got a MacBook Alumium 2008 and I'm running Mountain Lion on it. It runs perfect!
    Only problem I have, NOT concerning the OS X, is that I'm a Master student so I need a strong laptop (PS: I don't like Microsoft based pc's, due to bad experiences) so I'd like to upgrade my 2GB (2x1GB) RAM memory up to it's max. I'd hope for a 8GB RAM (2x4GB) but after contacting some Apple Premium Resellers who've told me that I can only go up to 4GB (2x2GB) for €100 (I live in Belgium). After spotting this forum, I've noticed some of you have the same MacBook as I do, with 8GB RAM memory, so it seems possible (See other MacBook 2008 Alu thread about OS X ML). My question is, IS IT? Because €200 is a lot of money for a non-working upgrade.

Thank you for reading, hope to get replies soon.

BelgianThunder

PS: What's the great advantage of a SSD?
    PS2: Where can I purchase memory?

2. simsaladimbamba

Officially that MacBook supports 4 GB, unofficially it supports 6 GB and if you update the Boot Rom you can use 8 GB, but some have reported an unstable OS.
    http://www.everymac.com/systems/app...-2.0-aluminum-13-late-2008-unibody-specs.html

As for where to get RAM, that is up to you and your knowledge of Belgian retailers, but you should get 4 GB RAM for less than 40 € and 6 or 8 GB for less than 50 €. Do you have a MediaMarkt or Saturn?

As for the advantage of an SSD: http://www.ehow.com/list_5990039_advantages-disadvantages-ssd-hard-drives_.html

They are fast, most applications open in less than five seconds, many even in only a second. Documents get opened faster and the Mac also boots faster.

MacBook, MacBook Pro: Replacing the Hard Disk Drive, transferring data to the new HDD

the guide includes:
    • 0. Identify your MacBook or MacBook Pro
    • 1. Getting a new HDD
    • 2. Guides to replace the internal HDD with a newer one