2008 Mac Blackbook Memory Upgrade Help Needed

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by peeaanuut, Mar 20, 2011.

  1. peeaanuut macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Location:
    Southern California
    #1
    I have a 2008 Blackbook. C2D 2.4Ghz. I upgraded to 4GB of ram a while back and I think I may be limiting myself now that I read more. I was that the blackbook can actually take 6GB and use it fully. But I also just looked at my profiler. The ram I purchased was as follows


    BANK 0/DIMM0:
    Size: 2 GB
    Type: DDR2 SDRAM
    Speed: 667 MHz
    Status: OK

    BANK 1/DIMM1:
    Size: 2 GB
    Type: DDR2 SDRAM
    Speed: 667 MHz
    Status: OK



    But now that I fully look at my system profile it says this:

    Bus Speed: 800 MHz


    So should I have gotten the PC6400 ram vs the PC5300? and If I was going to upgrade to a 6GB confuguration should I just get the PC6400?

    Through both Crucial and OWC it says that I would get the PC5300 according to their conigurator.

    I just want the fastest and most ram this machine can handle. Any help would be great appreciated.

    BTW: here is the basic overview from system profiler if this helps anyone to help me:
    Code:
     Model Name:	MacBook
      Model Identifier:	MacBook4,1
      Processor Name:	Intel Core 2 Duo
      Processor Speed:	2.4 GHz
      Number Of Processors:	1
      Total Number Of Cores:	2
      L2 Cache:	3 MB
      Memory:	4 GB
      Bus Speed:	800 MHz
      Boot ROM Version:	MB41.00C1.B00
      SMC Version (system):	1.31f1
      Sudden Motion Sensor:
      State:	Enabled
    
     
  2. upinflames900 macrumors 6502a

    upinflames900

    Joined:
    May 20, 2009
    #2
    Bus speed doesn't mean RAM speed... you are fine
     
  3. ddehr026 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    #3
    Yeah that model can only support 667, unfortunately.
     
  4. peeaanuut thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Location:
    Southern California
    #4
    Well it is good to know that I have the right ram in there. Now to see about bumpin it to 6GB. Thanks for the help!
     

Share This Page