2008 MacPro 3,1 continuous rebooting

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by birdieman128, Jan 6, 2017.

  1. birdieman128 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2016
    #1
    I had been using my MacPro (unsupported) on 10.12.2 Sierra and the screen freezes yesterday, mouse and keyboard were not responsive also. So hold down power button and to shut it down.

    Upon power on, the loading progress bar would be about half and then restart the computer again. Since I have El Capitan on another drive, before i was able to boot up this drive, but this time it will also load half way and restart again.

    I have tried to use a USB flash drive but it only gone half way and restart.

    I tried to safe boot by press and hold shift after the boot sound, but it will not go to safe boot at all and then it will load to half way and restart.

    I tried to press and hold D, same result.

    I have reset PRAM and SMC, same result.

    I have successfully press command + s to go into single -user mode, fix disk and it said modified, reboot, same result as it would boot half way and restart again.

    I am running out of idea.
     
  2. mugwump macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2004
  3. birdieman128 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2016
    #3
    Those RAM were there for the past 5 years, nonetheless I changed back to the original RAM sticks, but same result, booting half way and then restart again.
     
  4. mugwump macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2004
    #4
    The RAM is ECC and matched identical? I noticed on my cMP that a mismatched pair suddenly was unacceptable to the OS, causing rebooting and sometimes no full booting up. Went with perfect matched ECC and all was fixed. Not sure if that is the case with your issue, though.
     
  5. filmak macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2012
    Location:
    between earth and heaven
    #5
    Disconnect all external devices, except monitor, and pull all HDs from bays, do a pram reset, and then connect only the internal El Capitan drive.
    What GPU are you using, also do you have a spare one available? (for testing purposes)
     
  6. birdieman128, Jan 7, 2017
    Last edited: Jan 7, 2017

    birdieman128 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2016
    #6
    Okay take out all the RAM stick, just put two in the top slot 4GB each to boot and same result. Boot half way and re-start. These are 4GB 800MHz DDR2 ECC Fully Buffered DIMM , they were bought at the same time from the same vendor.
    --- Post Merged, Jan 7, 2017 ---
    Disconnect all the external drives and wires, removed all HD, PRAM reset after 3 chimes, put back the internal EC drive, boot and restart half way through the progress bar. Try safe boot, restart 3/4 through the progress bar.
    Graphic card is GE Force 8800 but no spare graphic cards lying around.
     
  7. filmak macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2012
    Location:
    between earth and heaven
    #7
    The 8800 is famous for failing, I have replaced ours in 2010, too.
    I think that you should start from this one.
    Can you find a GPU, even an unflashed PC one, just to check?
    You can try several older cards like 5770 5870 680 7xx etc even a 9xx can work, with all pc cards you won't have a boot screen of course...
     
  8. birdieman128 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2016
    #8
    Thanks for your suggestion, but at the moment, that is the only card i have in my possession, just wondering if the graphic card fails, won't i not even be able to see the boot screen ?
    Does this motherboard has an on board GPU?
     
  9. ActionableMango macrumors G3

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #9
    Boot in verbose mode. What is the last few lines of text before the computer spontaneously reboots? There is often a clue right there. Not always, but worth a try.
     
  10. birdieman128 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2016
    #10
    The last few lines of verbose before restarting

    Please see attached. image1.PNG
     
  11. birdieman128 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2016
    #11
    Will it be possible to take the drive 1 (one with El Capitan) and put it in an external enclosure, and hook up to a MBP and see if it will boot. That way we can see if it is a hardware or software issue.
     
  12. birdieman128 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2016
    #12
    Finally get my hands on a HD 5770 for Mac from my friend Mac Pro and it actually boot to the log screen, so it is the stupid Graphic Card. Thanks filmac, now just have to hunt one down.
     
  13. filmak macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2012
    Location:
    between earth and heaven
    #13
    Welcome, I'm glad you have found the problem.
    Good luck...
     

Share This Page