2008 MacPro 3,1 & Radeon R9 270X

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by APG1959, Jun 4, 2015.

  1. APG1959 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2015
    Location:
    Birmingham UK
    #1
    Hi, I have a MacPro 3,1 running 10.10.3 - it zooms along very well. I am using an Apple Cinema Display 20inch at 1680x1050.

    The native 2600 card was struggling so I have bought and fitted a Radeon R9 270X card, see screenshot. The increase in performance and usability is marked.

    However, when I switch on, I get the EFI boot screen and then, as OS X loads, it goes black. The only way to restore the screen is to disconnect and then reconnect it. It's absolutely fine thereafter.

    Does anyone have a fix for this, please?

    Screen Shot 2015-06-04 at 15.15.09.jpg
     
  2. lowendlinux Contributor

    lowendlinux

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2014
    Location:
    North Country (way upstate NY)
  3. Fl0r!an macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    #3
    I'd assume that you're using a framebuffer which doesn't match perfectly. Did you try other ports?
    I'd investigate to port mapping inside your cards PC BIOS and compare it with your OS X framebuffer. Hackintosh sites will tell you how to do that.

    @lowendlinux: It's obviously flashed.
     
  4. NOTNlCE macrumors 6502a

    NOTNlCE

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2013
    Location:
    DMV Area
    #4
    If you're using the new 270X (which, yes, does appear to be somehow flashed) then why even bother keeping the 2600 XT in your tower? The only reason I would keep that around is for boot screens, which the 270X seems to be providing. Try removing the 2600 XT and see if your display has issues.
     
  5. APG1959 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2015
    Location:
    Birmingham UK
    #5
    Hi, yes the R9 270X has been flashed (not by me, however by people who know what they're doing and it works fine on other screens); it appears the trouble is with the interface with the 20-inch cinema display. I should get normal boot screen and norma OS X screen, however there is something that prevents the OS X screen coming without the physical separation. There is no difference in behaviour whether the 2600 is in or out, sadly.
     
  6. Fl0r!an macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    #6
    Were "those people" using the same port you are using now (DVI, I guess)?
    I'd assume that other ports behave differently. Which exact card are you using (brand, port layout)?
     
  7. APG1959 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2015
    Location:
    Birmingham UK
    #7

    It's a good point that you raise, sorry for my incomplete responses thus far.

    . the card is from a UK company macupgrades.co.uk, they know what they're doing and I've worked with them before. So I am not suggesting they have misbehaved. They can't replicate my behaviour though they don't have this (old) 20-inch cinema display either. Here is the link to the card on their website: http://www.macupgrades.co.uk/store/product_info.php?products_id=1017

    . the screen is connected with its native connector to a matching connector, and that connector is a 'display port to DVI' hanging lead. if I connect the screen directly to any of the 2 x DVI connectors on the card itself, it doesn't work at all after boot screen.

    That is to say, the only way I get functionality is from this hanging lead and after a physical disconnection/connection of the assembler.
     
  8. mikeboss, Jun 11, 2015
    Last edited: Jun 11, 2015

    mikeboss macrumors 65816

    mikeboss

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2009
    Location:
    switzerland
    #8
  9. Fl0r!an, Jun 11, 2015
    Last edited: Jun 11, 2015

    Fl0r!an macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    #9
    This is the correct link I guess: http://www.macupgrades.co.uk/store/product_info.php?products_id=1032

    I'm quite sure they do not know what they're doing, this is not a good card to choose for flashing because the port layout doesn't match any supported card in OSX. They even admit that by saying that 2 out of 4 ports are dead. To verify, please enter the following command in a terminal window and post the output here:
    Code:
    ioreg | grep ATY
    There are some things you could test, but if I was you I'd return the card, get a well-supported PC card and flash it myself. IMHO this work doesn't deserve any money.
    Any R9 270X/280/280X or HD 7870/7950/7970 with 2x mini DisplayPort, 1x DVI and 1x HDMI should be fine for you.

    EDIT: It's quite strange that your display requires a reconnect even on the working ports, but the mismatched port layout is a quite good hint that this badly chosen card is the problem. Btw, everything you could do to solve this problem would require you to reflash the card.
     

Share This Page