2008 Second Optical Drive

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Nick 214, Aug 26, 2011.

  1. Nick 214, Aug 26, 2011
    Last edited: Aug 26, 2011

    Nick 214 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Location:
    Pittsburgh/Slippery Rock, PA
    #1
    Hey everyone,

    I'm an audiophile (ducks from tomatoes) and I wanted to get a great CD drive for the purposes of ripping only. I decided on the Asus CD-S520/A4, since it seems to be the best non-SCSI drive out there... It's IDE, so I wired it up in my second bay. I had it set for Cable Select and System Profile(r) recognized it, but it won't appear in Disk Utility (and therefore, work).

    I switched it to Slave, and the Superdrive to Master, but, alas, no dice.

    I'm currently on my 10.5.8 volume, since I'm waiting for Newegg to deliver my new drives for the 10.6.x RAID. Will an up to Snow fix this, or is it simply a legacy drive that just burnt some cash away...

    NK

    UPDATE: Here's some pics to help illustrate...

    [​IMG]

    Looks fine(?) in the device tree.

    [​IMG]

    Not so much in DU... :(
     
  2. drewsof07 macrumors 68000

    drewsof07

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Location:
    Ohio
    #2
    Isn't digital digital? I didn't even realize it made a difference what type of drive you use? :confused:
     
  3. Nick 214 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Location:
    Pittsburgh/Slippery Rock, PA
    #3
    I'm mostly concerned about jitter and ripping errors... The former is a hot debate, but the latter is a very real problem. With a 230GB iTunes library, I like to get it right ;)

    NK
     
  4. derbothaus macrumors 601

    derbothaus

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    #4
    If your Mac is the G5 in your sig you can't upgrade to 10.6.

    You may need something like this:
    http://www.patchburn.de/

    I have not needed it in quite a while and most DVD drives work for me but maybe the PPC and 10.5.8 require new device codes to get it working. There are no released drivers I could find for OS X. Looked like Win only. However the patching usually only nets you iLife burning capabilities. It's worth a look and it did work for some plextor drives I needed working back in 2006 or so.
     
  5. Nick 214 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Location:
    Pittsburgh/Slippery Rock, PA
    #5
    Thanks, I'll try it out now. I do need to update that sig... :eek:

    NK
     
  6. derbothaus macrumors 601

    derbothaus

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    #6
    Audiophiles think Firewire cables matter on the "robustness" of sound. I would think the source sacred. But yeah, digital is digital. It's really about the quality on the way out (DA) that matters to me. Outside of errors in ripping of course.
     
  7. Nick 214 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Location:
    Pittsburgh/Slippery Rock, PA
    #7
    We're getting to why I hoped to keep this thread just on the drive issue, lol... I'm over the whole "audiophile" flaming jazz (not that you're initiating).

    NK

    ----------

    Addendum: Patch Burn won't run on 10.5, and there is no use even thinking about .6 or .7
    :(

    NK
     
  8. derbothaus macrumors 601

    derbothaus

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    #8
    Not flaming at all just letting it be known that it does matter to some people and a decently rated ripper is a worthwhile investment if the quality matters. Be it for error free or incurred sound quality enhancement.

    ----------

    Sorry man. I read the 10.3-Later as 10.5-Later.
    Try some firmware searches. They have stuff like this littered about.
    http://lasvegas.rpc1.org/

    That's only for Pioneer but maybe...

    Also why not use a 3rd party ripper like Toast or something. You may find a 3rd party app with a demo and maybe it can use the Asus.
     
  9. Nick 214 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Location:
    Pittsburgh/Slippery Rock, PA
    #9
    That sounds like a plan, but I still don't see why the OSX architecture isn't "seeing it" beyond profiler.

    Hmmm

    NK
     
  10. stordoff macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    #10
    Still no need for a second drive. Use XLD to do the ripping - it'll compare it with the AccurateRip database and highlight any errors.
     
  11. Nick 214 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Location:
    Pittsburgh/Slippery Rock, PA
    #11
    I see your point, and it is valid but I already bought and installed it, though, so I'd like to get it working. :(

    NK
     
  12. stordoff macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    #12
    Fair point - I mis-read your post. Might still be worth using XLD anyway, just to make sure that the rips are good. It's caught a few CDs that have needed cleaning for me in the past.
     
  13. Nick 214, Aug 26, 2011
    Last edited: Aug 27, 2011

    Nick 214 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Location:
    Pittsburgh/Slippery Rock, PA
    #13
    just grabbed a SL disc and took the machine to 10.6.8 - no change... :(

    NK

    Booting into k64 makes no difference, though I thought I may as well try. A FB friend suggested that I hook it up to a Windows machine and check the firmware... Would doing so and reinserting it into OSX solve this?

    I suppose I could also just buy a 5.25" external drive and drop it in, but that would kill the form factor of the MP!
     
  14. derbothaus macrumors 601

    derbothaus

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    #14
    Most likely will not solve as OS X needs the correct device ID to be used by it's internal apps such as Finder and Disk Utility. The drive is seen on the bus so you need an app that can see it. You may be SOL on OS X tools using it without an industrious hack or learn how to construct device ID's and ingest.
     
  15. Nick 214, Aug 27, 2011
    Last edited: Aug 27, 2011

    Nick 214 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Location:
    Pittsburgh/Slippery Rock, PA
  16. Nick 214 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Location:
    Pittsburgh/Slippery Rock, PA
    #16
    And so the plot thickens...

    [​IMG]

    I inserted a CD by taking off the cover, pulling the tray, etc.... And it worked! iTunes read and reported all fine. But I still can't get the system to recognize the drive as an ejectable media, which defeats the purpose of installing it inside of the MP.

    NK
     
  17. VanneDC macrumors 6502a

    VanneDC

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Location:
    Dubai, UAE
    #17
    sounds trippy... did you look on the drives manufacrorers webby for updated firmware? either that or the drive is defunkt, and id return it and try another. :)

    hang on, did i just read that it shows up in the device tree and you can read disks with it??

    if thats the case, does it show up in Disk utils? (put the Snowy disk in the drive and boot from that) and see if it works.. if it does, your Snowy install is on the blink. :)
     
  18. drewsof07 macrumors 68000

    drewsof07

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Location:
    Ohio
    #18
    So it will mount disks, but the drive itself is not showing under profiler?
     
  19. Nick 214 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Location:
    Pittsburgh/Slippery Rock, PA
    #19
    I've changed the album settings in case the pictures haven't been showing up...

    It profiles, but not under disk utility.

    NK
     
  20. Nick 214, Aug 29, 2011
    Last edited: Aug 30, 2011

    Nick 214 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Location:
    Pittsburgh/Slippery Rock, PA
    #20
    I suppose I could boot into Windows and share the iTunes library? Maybe not.
     
  21. Nick 214 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Location:
    Pittsburgh/Slippery Rock, PA
    #21
    Solved!

    It was, somehow, the ATA cable. Switched it to the top drive and it works. Wild.

    Thanks be to everyone!

    NK
     

Share This Page