2009 13" not cutting it... What to do?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by EB66, Sep 16, 2012.

1. EB66 macrumors 6502

I own a 13" 2.26GHz Unibody Macbook Pro with upgraded 5GB of RAM that is starting to wear out I'm afraid. I had to revert back to the stock 160GB drive after my 500GB died about a month ago and the "service battery" warning is now on after 790 cycles with a health of 76%.

I'm a CS student with two years to go and I'm not sure this computer will cut it until graduation even if I sink $200 into it (new SSD and battery). It could also be argued that putting $200 into a computer that is worth ~$500 max is a bad idea.

I guess what I'm asking is:
    -Do I sell it and spend a good chunk of change now?
    -Do I spend a little now to hold me over and buy new when I graduate and have a job?
    -If I do go the new computer route, do I buy a refurb 13" Air, refurb 15" High-Res, or go all out and get a rMBP?

I should also be personally factoring in "Will I regret spending this money when I'm paying back student loans?"

2. whoknows87, Sep 16, 2012
    Last edited: Sep 16, 2012

whoknows87 macrumors 6502a

whoknows87

Well if you decide to sell that's $500-600 towards a new Laptop , if you were going to do some upgrades ( 250 out of your pocket) so if your'e finances permit 500+250+ maybe few hundreds can get you a new model base 1099 after discount , you can buy a refurbished from Apple there are good deals there, also try eBay there are plenty of Macs for sale ( recent ones) and some come with AppleCare you will end up saving 150-200 sometimes

i wouldn't get a retina just because if they do release a rMBP 13 you will probably want that lol seems like you want a 13, you should consider another MBP for your studies might be more useful ( just assuming)

3. J&JPolangin macrumors 68030

...5Gb RAM is a strange amount, was that a typo?