2009 17" MBP Tech Problem...VERY difficult "start-up" process

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Tom R, May 27, 2015.

  1. Tom R macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    #1
    Good Morning...my wife has a 2009 17" MBP and for over 6 months it has not wanted to "start" after we move it from one home to another (we have two residences and move about once a month). It has worked just fine once I get it to start up...until the next time we move. Normally, we just close it up and do not shut off...then just hook up to power cord and open up. Used to be still running fine...now has to be started with the On button but even that does not work normally. I have to hold down the button as it begins to start...often flashes black just before the apple logo appears but will eventually continue the start up as long as I hold the on button...usually take between 5-10 attempts. Once it hits the icon screen I am OK and it is good to go until out next trip to the other house. Same reaction at both houses.

    Sooo...I took it to a fairly large shop with two Apple certified techs...first thing they found...1) battery was very swollen and needed to be replaced 2) all of there checks after they found bad battery were "fine". 3) Since my wife really likes her 17" and they don't make them anymore I had the, max out the ram and put in a SS hard drive. At the shop they said it was working fine.

    Take home and back to "bad" start up process...again 5-10 tries holding down the on button until icons finally appear. Failed start happens when the start-up screen flashed back to black just before the apple logo with the start up time bar completes and moves to the icon screen.

    We also have had a couple of incidents lately where it just flashes black (an off) even after it is up and running. Not often but a couple of times.

    IF I cannot find the problem...or if it is the "mother" board I plan on giving my wife my 17" mid 2010 MBP, having her new SS drive moved to my MBP and getting a new 15" rMBP for myself. I use monitors at both homes so I won't miss the 17" screen much. However, I might prefer to wait for the next chip version that is due "not too long"?

    The tech says they will redo all hardware tests if I wish to bring back in...my fear is it is some kind of "short" that may be difficult to find. Fact that it work perfectly when re-started and on the power cord may make it harder to locate the real problem???

    Well, what my question is...Does this symptom of start-up type problem sound familiar to any of you??? Must have happen before to someone?

    Let me know if any questions...Thanks for your help...Tom R
     
  2. Samuelsan2001 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2013
    #2
    Sounds like a power problem created by the swollen battery bending a connector somewhere.
     
  3. Tom R thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    #3
    Additional "symptom"...when I plug in a camera to download current pictures...it goes black and needs to be restarted...using the "hold down" start button until icons appears. ???? Thanks Tom R

    P.S. What does the "main board" cost...not sure of terminology. TMR
     
  4. Tom R thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    #4
    I just tried with a card reader instead of directly from the camera. Plugging in the card reader w/o card in it was no problem...but as soon as I put a card into the reader and it sent a signal to the computer it "blacked out" and was off. BTW...sometimes I need to push the power button one time which I assume is the actual "off" even though the screen is black and non-responsive...THEN I can work at getting it to power up. Seems to generally take one or two tries to get it to power up...I keep power button pushed until I see the icons...otherwise it sometimes goes black as it it starting b4 the icons appear.

    Thanks...Tom R
     
  5. Tom R thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
  6. BJonson macrumors 6502a

    BJonson

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    #6
    I'm having the same problem with the same computer. Anyone? Is it the graphics card issue?
     

Share This Page