2009-2010 Target Display Mode - awesome

Discussion in 'iMac' started by akm3, Jan 25, 2015.

  1. akm3 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2007
    #1
    I looked for lots of information about Target Display Mode and the information just isn't that good. I'm pleased to say that it works better than I'd expected.

    I took a PC with a DisplayPort output, got a displayport to mini-displayport output and plugged it in. Upon booting it is instantly recognized by the imac and it switches over to Target Display mode where it worked as expected.

    As a bonus, I couldn't find confirmation that the iMac will also use audio - it does. The GTX970 in the PC (and most video cards recently) can put audio through the displayport.

    So, I have audio, video it works perfect. Hit CMD-F2 on the iMac keyboard and it switches back to Mac. The audio and brightness keys on the Mac keyboard still work. It's a perfect solution EXCEPT I think the external (Firewire and USB) drives disconnect from the iMac when it is in target display mode. Has anyone seen this behavior?
     
  2. AppleNewton macrumors 68000

    AppleNewton

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2007
    Location:
    1 Finite Place
    #2
    they shouldn't disconnect or anything.

    Essentially all you're doing with Target Display mode is switching output options.
    For example, a TV with multiple devices (game console, Apple TV, other device), you're just selecting a different source, the iMac peripherals should not be affected.
     
  3. redheeler macrumors 603

    redheeler

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    #3
    That's one of the great things about the 2009 and 2010 27" iMacs. After getting a cheap Mini DisplayPort cable I was able to use the 2010 iMac's display for anything with Mini DisplayPort or Thunderbolt ports.

    With the 2011, sadly, they partially crippled it by requiring Thunderbolt.

    ----------

    As mentioned above, they shouldn't. The iMac remains running unaffected by Target Display Mode.
     
  4. akm3 thread starter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2007
    #4
    I need to test it but my Drobo decided to start rebuilding so I was worried that it had been badly disconnected during the TDP testing and I haven't tried it again with external drives attached. if I can get that piece solid, then A+ on Target Display mode and i hope it makes a comeback in the future without being crippled by Thunderbolt requirements.
     
  5. AppleNewton macrumors 68000

    AppleNewton

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2007
    Location:
    1 Finite Place
    #5
    drobos are inherently known for their issues. definitely get a good backup and consider other storage solutions. otherwise you got a nice set-up going!

    now if only 5K iMacs had TDM :cool:
     

Share This Page