2009 iMac - Brightness settings won't save?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by MaskAndWig, Mar 11, 2009.

  1. MaskAndWig macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    #1
    I've been lurking here for several months, learning a LOT. Thanks to the rumors here of an iMac refresh, I put off my initial plans to buy one back in December. Last Tuesday, I went to the local Apple store and bought one of the new 24-inch models (3.06 GHz/4GB RAM/1TB HD). So far, it's been running very well.

    However, the monitor's default brightness setting is far too bright for my eyes, so the first thing I did was to open the System Preferences pane and reduce the brightness setting. That worked fine until I shut the computer down. On rebooting, the brightness returned to its default highest setting. On my older iMac G5, the brightness setting always stayed put. It isn't a huge problem since adjusting the brightness setting does work, but I don't want to have to adjust it every time I reboot my computer.

    I spent two hours yesterday on the phone with Apple support trying to fix the problem, even going so far as to reinstall the system software with no success. The woman on the phone finally suggested that I return the Mac for a replacement.

    Has anyone else here with a 2009 iMac experienced this problem? Is it possible that it's hardware related? If so, could this be the tip of the iceberg suggesting a potentially larger problem down the road? I would have guessed it might be a software glitch. (The new iMac has thrust me, finally, into Leopard; until last week I was using Tiger on my older G5.) I bought the 3-year Apple Care with it--since the new iMacs have only been out a week, should I wait until the next Leopard update and see if that fixes the problem?

    Thanks again for all the great and informative posts!
     
  2. jmpage2 macrumors 68030

    jmpage2

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    #2
    This sounds like a driver problem, which video card do you have?
     
  3. MaskAndWig thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    #3
    Graphics card

    Thanks for the reply. The graphics card is NVIDIA GT 130. Is there a relatively easy fix if it's a driver problem?
     
  4. jmpage2 macrumors 68030

    jmpage2

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    #4
    yup, just wait for a driver update, assuming you're set up for updates.

    Can you go to the Apple store and test this with one of their machines? It should behave the same way, confirming that there's nothing wrong with your box.
     
  5. MaskAndWig thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    #5
    O.k., thanks. I'll stop by the Apple Store tomorrow (fortunately it isn't far) and will see how the new demo machines behave. Thanks again for your help!
     
  6. Crackman macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2009
    Location:
    Netherlands
    #6
    Same issue here (iMac'09, 2,93, GT120). I wouldn't worry too much about it, as I don't think it's a hardware issue.
    Apple will probably fix this with a driver update.
     
  7. Appleness macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2009
    #7
    I have the same problem (3,06 GHz. GT-130)...
    Let´s wait for drivers update
     
  8. grphcdsgnr macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    #8
    same issue with $1499 base model

    Same thing here and I have the baseline 24" $1499 model with the 9400M integrated graphics.
     
  9. minik macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Location:
    Bellevue, WA
    #9
    It happens to my 3.06Ghz iMac (Early 2008, nvidia GeForce 8800 GS) from time to time.
     
  10. amarmitra macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2009
  11. Trinity macrumors regular

    Trinity

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2005
    Location:
    Barcelona - CAT
    #12
    not keeping the brightness setting is a common feature of iMacs, mine is 2 years old and any system update has solved the bug. I use Apple Script to set the brightnes on every startup:

    tell application "System Preferences"
    activate
    set current pane to pane "com.apple.preference.displays"
    tell application "System Events"
    set value of slider 1 of group 2 of tab group 1 of window "iMac" of process "System Preferences" to 1.0
    end tell
    quit
    end tell
     
  12. Lordedmond macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Location:
    Tilchestune UK
    #13
    As a point of interest I have anew 2009 Mac , and when using bootcamp the brightness settings are saved ,but not in Leo. So in MHO it must be a driver problem and no amount of SMC / Pram resets will cure it
     
  13. bindigok macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    #14
    I have a new iMac 3.06GHz, GT130 video card...and I have the same problem. It doesn't really bother me b/c I never reboot except maybe once a week or so if I install a program or update. You can use Brightness Control (freeware) and have it set to open/hide each time you log on, then your brightness can be saved that way. But I don't like Brightness Control, it dulls the image quality too much for me. I just keep my brightness turned down, you can always just use the keyboard to do it, no need to open System Prefs.
     
  14. pung10 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 6, 2009
    #16
    Yeah, I also spent 2 hours going through what you have done. Only to be told that it's a known bug.... I personally feel that Apple should train/inform their tech support staff on this sort of craps rather wasting everyone's time.

    Anyway, there is no known fix for it yet (as I was told). :(
     
  15. Tee.Nutter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #17
    I'm having the same issue too, but mine keeps on defaulting to the lowest brightness setting :mad:

    However, this usually only happens when I have let my display goto sleep for a long period of time
     

Share This Page