2009 (late) mini upgrades for photo editing

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by ccrnnr9, Nov 12, 2016.

1. ccrnnr9 macrumors newbie

Hello all, I'm new here but looking for some help that searches didn't quite answer. In short I have a later 2009 mini that I bought new around that time -- for whatever reason I've hardly used it since 2011. It's basically been used as a dvd player and hard drive for music.

Anyway, I'm a student on a tight budget. I need a machine for home use for basic photo editing. I use lightroom 99% of the time though having the capability of basic photoshop use would be a plus. I have access to a mac lab at school for heavy PS lifting if needed.

In short I have the following model: 2.26 GHz Intel Core2 Dup, 2GB RAM, 160gb hd, GeForce 9400 graphics card.

In an ideal world I'd love to spend $2,000 on a new machine but that's just not in the cards with grad school and a very limited income. I can, however afford some upgrades and a new display. Forgive my ignorance. Questions:

1. OWC offers an 8gb memory upgrade for $59. Reviews are positive and install seems straightforward. Anything else I should consider?
    2. I'm assuming the stock processor is not something I can upgrade. If I'm wrong what would you suggest I do?
    3. Disk setup: there are lots of options out there. Any recommendations for replacing the stock drive? Is it possible to add two drives if I take out the optical drive. It appears that macsales has kits that allow this. If so, what setup would you suggest. I was thinking of having a two internal drive setup -- a smaller ssd for my os, apps, LR catalog, etc and a larger drive for storage of photos, docs, etc. Then having an external drive for each internal drive as a backup.
    4. Video card: I'm lost here. Ideally I'd like something that will allow me to use a 27" display that's as good as I can afford (<$450).