2009 Mac Mini + Long HDMI Cable problem

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by THENIZZZEIL, Nov 26, 2010.

  1. THENIZZZEIL macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Location:
    Cerritos, Ca
    #1
    Hi guys, I have a macmini and am trying to set up my home theater by using it via dual display. I have it hooked up to my monitor (DVI) and have a minidisplay-to-HDMI converter, however I seem to be having a problem getting anything to display on my projector.

    I don't know what the maximum length of the cable is for the macmini transmission. I even notified monoprice and asked them if I needed an amplifier or extender, but I got a pretty broad answer of, "you'll have to just buy them and test them."

    I don't exactly have the time or money to try out a wide array of products. Ive tested the set up with a short cable of 15ft and it works fine. I am running about 40-50 ft from my adapter to the projector and nothing shows.

    Do I need an amplifier or a repeater? How else can I transmit the video..perhaps the macmini isn't capable of transmitting the video that length of cable.

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. peterdevries macrumors 68040

    peterdevries

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    Location:
    Amsterdam, The Netherlands
    #2
    I have a 45 ft cable connected to the same Mac mini with a mono price mini-displayport to HDMI adapter. It works great.

    There shouldn't be any problems with a cable of even that length. Have you tried a replacement cable of the same length?
     
  3. THENIZZZEIL thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Location:
    Cerritos, Ca
    #3
    I have not tried a replacement cable.

    Another option that I just researched this morning is the CAT-6 to HDMI kits that seem to be gaining popularity for the 100+ feet installations. I saw them when I was making my setup months ago, but it didnt register that it was a form of getting all the bandwith across long distances of cable.

    I'm reluctant to go back and redo the whole thing, my next step is to try a repeater, however they are backordered on monoprice.

    thanks for the feedback though!
     
  4. peterdevries, Dec 4, 2010
    Last edited: Dec 4, 2010

    peterdevries macrumors 68040

    peterdevries

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    Location:
    Amsterdam, The Netherlands
    #4
    Sorry, but that makes no sense. The cable is the cheapest component, and with the hardware you have there shouldn't be any problems. Adding more expensive components wouldn't solve a break in your HDMI cable if that would be the cause.

    If you add more hardware you will be complicating the process of finding the error.

    I would suggest you first try a shorter or equal length HDMI cable to see if the problem is the cable. Also try connecting a dvi monitor to see if the adapter is the problem. It could also be the projector.
     

Share This Page