2009 Mac Pro issues with NEC monitors

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Pentent, Apr 5, 2009.

  1. Pentent macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    #1
  2. bluesteel macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    Location:
    Earth
    #2
    yep. i bought two 26" NEC MultiSync LCD2690WUXi2 monitors last week. i hooked them up to a brand new nehalem 8-core mac pro with an HD4870 and the mac pro would not read the DVI signal. first a blue screen, then no dvi signal. i just shipped both monitors back to macmall for a full refund.

    what a shame. i can't tell you how annoyed I am by this. what a pain in the butt. not sure what monitors i'm going to get now. either two smaller ones again, or one big 30-incher.
     
  3. grue macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    Location:
    Somewhere.
  4. gdieter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Location:
    SoCal
    #4
    I don't know about that, but if true, I'd bet on the 4870 drivers. I'm driving an NEC 3090 with my '08 MP and it's beautiful.
     
  5. Mac Husky macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Location:
    Bavaria, Germany
    #5
    Any new facts about this topic?
    Did anyone solve the problem?

    I bought a NEC MultiSync 2690 WUXi last year for my Photoshop work (calibrated display, doing very well on my PC) and now the ATI seems not to be compatible with the monitor (lot of findings using google). And the only way to solve the problem so far seems to be switching the monitor off until Mac OS has fully bootet (depreview). Thats incredible for me. So do I have no choisc and definitively have to go for the NVDIA? I am not sure if the NVIDIA GT120 is good enough even for Final Cut Express later on. Sowith another point of uncertainty driving my decision concerning the new Mac Pro.

    The price for the ATI 4870 itself is even the same as the upgrade by apple. Will it be plug&play to change from the NVIDIA to the ATI later on when the problem is solved?! Or is that a bigger deal? I could go for the NVIDIA first and switch later?!
     
  6. seer macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2007
    #6
    I got a NEC WGX2 20" from a couple of years back and it works fine with the Radeon
     
  7. zaithyn macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    #7
    I noticed that several people have asked this over the years. Has anyone found a fix?
     
  8. Mac Husky macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Location:
    Bavaria, Germany
    #8
    Existing problem with a Mac even prior to the ATI 4870 :confused: I did not know that by now.
    Something to read. Not satisfactory at all.
    NEC sent general suggestions on different adjustments of the display menu instead of working on the problem themselves and tell the user what to do :(

    Can´t test it by myself as I do not have a Mac with ATI 4870 so far.
    And of course I will not until the problem is reported to be solved :rolleyes:
     
  9. Mac Husky macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Location:
    Bavaria, Germany
    #9
    I got NO answer concerning my question from Apple and AMD at all (so far) but from NEC:

    "The poblem indeed is a mismatch of Mac OS and the DDC/CI information of the mentioned NEC monitors.
    NEC offers a firmware update for the monitor that should solve the problem.
    Therefore the monitor has to be send in to the service center. Nothing will be charged for that"
    .
     
  10. chelsel macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    #10
    I cancelled the 4870 and stuck with the GT 120 for now... can't bear having flakiness with a new system.
     
  11. Mac Husky macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Location:
    Bavaria, Germany
    #11
    I guess so will I :(
     

Share This Page