2010 13" MBP RAM issues?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by King Flamez1, Jan 24, 2013.

  1. King Flamez1 macrumors regular

    King Flamez1

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #1
    For the past few weeks, I've been noticing that my MBP has been acting weird, with my RAM running out in about like an hour to three hours with minimal applications open, and what seems to be a completely different problem is that it becomes unresponsive half the time I've tried putting it to sleep. i.e. It doesn't start back up.

    Any Ideas? :confused:
     

    Attached Files:

  2. MatLane macrumors 6502a

    MatLane

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Location:
    England, United Kingdom
    #2
    You know what i have had this issue before, i turned my mac on and had it running all day. Hadn't open a damn thing and the ram was saying i had the bare minimum available

    Maybes its running a lot of physical memory and needs a reboot if its been on for a long time.

    Im not sure on that area but that worked for me

    2008 Unibody

    ----------

    Sorry i missed the bit of the post at the end

    That does indeed sound unusual

    What i would do is try getting inside and taking the ram out the slots, then carefully putting them back in, maybe in a different order

    That also worked for me and has never done it since


    If that doesn't work, it may be dodgy and need replacing....or maybe more ram!
     
  3. King Flamez1 thread starter macrumors regular

    King Flamez1

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #3
    yeah, i'm thinking i might buy some RAM after my exams are over. I'll probably reformat my hard drive in a couple days to try and fix that other problem too, just learned that my model can apparently handle 16 gigs :D
     
  4. MatLane macrumors 6502a

    MatLane

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Location:
    England, United Kingdom
    #4
    Sounds good, 16 gigs will rock it!
     
  5. King Flamez1 thread starter macrumors regular

    King Flamez1

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #5
    Can't believe I missed this, but it turns out that one of my RAM modules died lol i noticed this when I saw that i was only running my computer with 1.75gigs of RAM.
     

Share This Page