2010 21.5inch imac ram question

Discussion in 'iMac' started by robbie12345, Dec 14, 2011.

  1. robbie12345 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2011
    Location:
    United States
    #1
    ok so i have a early 2009 iMac that i thought was a little bit slow so i ordered 2x4gb sticks from owc which is the maximum it can take

    so heres my question we have the 2010 i3 iMac base model so the question is how much ram can it take i know it can take 8 but can it take 16

    also i i were to put the old iMacs memory int the new one because if not we would just be wasting the old ram what would happen
    ?

    the old iMacs memory is 1067mhz whereas the new ones is 1333mhz i would upgrade it to 4x2 memory so i would still have dual channel (i think) but what would happen with the different clock speeds thank you
     
  2. The-Pro macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Location:
    Germany
    #2
    i thouhgt the 2010 imac support max 16, but according to mactracker it is 32GB.
    16Gb is deffinetly supported
    you can fit the ram from your old imac into your 2010 version (it has 4 slots). all the models will run at 1066MHz instead of 1333 (as the old ram you inserted is 1066) this difference is not noticeable though.
     
  3. robbie12345 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2011
    Location:
    United States
    #3
    ok thank you I'm pretty sure it can't support 32 i think only the newer models can so which models should i leave up front because u are usually supposed to have the bigger ones up front will it make no difference? and is thee really no noticeable difference between 1333 and 1067 or if there is where will i see it

    Thank you
     
  4. The-Pro, Dec 14, 2011
    Last edited: Dec 14, 2011

    The-Pro macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Location:
    Germany
    #4
    As far as I know where the models are dosnt make a difference.
    benchmark wise, there is a fair difference. real world usage you wont see a difference. more ram supersedes quicker ram any day, depends on usage but for lots of people who need more than 4GB that is the case. You would notice a difference if you constantly have gigabytes worth of data flowing into and then out of the ram. But that most likely wont be the case
     

Share This Page