2010 Mac Mini web browsing slow? And mirror display question

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by wargasm, Jul 4, 2010.

  1. wargasm macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    #1
    Hey guys I finally took plunge and grabbed a new mini. I have it wired directly to my airport and the web browsing is slow on it. For example I will go to engadget.com and it will only load half way and then just stop. I thought maybe my internet was going crazy but my windows desktop connected "right next to it on airport" loads instantly.

    It does this on different web sites. I even did the safari reset but its same issue. Any suggestions on what I can do to trouble shoot? I dont want to take this thing back.

    I was also wondering if there was a way to Mirror my display but with two different resolutions? I have googled this and cant find a straight answer at least not from anything posted in last couple years....

    I have 1900x1200 on my Pc display and I have an HDMI going under house to My 65" Plasma which is 1900x1080

    Any software tweaks I can do? This is a permanent setup with the ipad as the remote....

    Thanks a million for any help or suggestions


    R
     
  2. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #2
    hey there wargasm.

    there have been ALOT of DNS issues going around lately, who knows why.

    first of all, upgrade your airport to the lastest firmware if you already hadnt (can be done through software update, or "airport utility").

    next, go to system prefs->network->ethernet->advanced->TCP/IP (tab) and change the DNS servers to 8.8.8.8 and see if that gives you any speed updates (these are google DNS servers, quite fast - no harm will come i promise!).

    if that doesnt work, you may need to change the DNS servers on your router.

    also, apparently another work around is to disable the router firewall - just to see if it speeds up.

    as for the monitor issue, you should natively be able to change the res in SYstem Prefs->Displays, a window will pop up for each monitor and you can change the res independently. if not, attempt to change with SwitchResX.

    :)
     
  3. wargasm thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    #3
    DoFoT9 thanks so much for the response!


    The router was up to date so I switched the DNS settings like you suggested and the net seems WAY faster now! I cant thank you enough, I was really not looking forward to a os reinstall or returning this back to apple...

    Tv should be here Thursday so I will try that, I for whatever reason thought when I had my macbook pro that I couldnt get it to clone two different resolutions...

    I'll let ya know when its officially setup!

    Thanks again!

    R
     
  4. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #4
    no problems man! hope it all works out well for you - let us know :D
     

Share This Page