2010 Mac Pro 5,1 1066 or 1333 RAM?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Josh-H, Oct 27, 2013.

  1. Josh-H, Oct 27, 2013
    Last edited: Oct 28, 2013

    Josh-H macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2008
    #1
    New to me 2010 Mac Pro arrived today and have it up and rolling with a OWC Merucry Accelsior SSD and 4 HD's in RAID 0+1.

    2 x 2.4Ghhz 8 -core server machine

    Time to upgrade the RAM.

    Options are either 1066 or 1333 Mhz RAM. According to OWC either option works so I figure might as well get the 1333.

    Will it run at 1333 though? (require a PRAM reset?)

    Or, is it a case of putting 1333 in there ready for a future upgrade to 12 cores?

    Lastly - anyonee purchased their ram for the mac pro from RAM city?
     
  2. MacVidCards Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #2
    You need a CPU capable of 1333.

    But always best to be prepared
     
  3. DanielCoffey macrumors 65816

    DanielCoffey

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    Location:
    Edinburgh, UK
    #3
    If you have bought a 4,1 that has been firmware upgraded to a 5,1 the ram in it may be 1066 too. List the machine details in About this Mac - More Info (minus the serial number).
     
  4. Josh-H thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2008
    #4
    its a 5,1 out of the box and yes the current RAM is 1066 - but I will bin that for 16 GB dims. So thats why I was asking if I should order the 1333 Mhz to be ready for a future processor upgrade?
     

    Attached Files:

  5. Macsonic macrumors 65816

    Macsonic

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Location:
    Earth
    #5
    Yes you can purchase a 1333mhz ram. But check first the ram that came with our Mac Pro that just arrived. It may already be 1333mhz. Because Apple installed 1333mhz OEM rams in 5.1 2.4ghz 8 core so I think they used all 1333mhz. When I purchased mine from Apple the ram that came with it was an OEM Hynix at 1333mhz and not 1066mhz. There was another posting by another member in another thread that his 5.1 Mac Pro 2.4ghz also came with OEM 1333mhz.
     
  6. pastrychef macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY
    #6
    5,1s come with 1333MHz RAM from Apple. Depending upon which CPUs you have, it may run at 1066MHz or 1333MHz. Since you have the E5620 Xeons, the RAM runs at 1066MHz. This means that either type of RAM will work for you.

    Most would advise to purchase 13333MHz RAM to future-proof any upgrades you may perform, but it's entirely up to you...
     

Share This Page