Resolved 2010 Mac Pro boot woes

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by mgmtm3, Nov 20, 2016.

  1. mgmtm3 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2016
    #1
    I believe I might be completely hosed with my Mac Pro. So I wanted to install windows 10 on my 2010 Mac Pro. So I went through all the menus and the computer restarted and says no boot device detected. Unfortunately my Mac Pro came with a amd 5870 non Mac so I can't get to the hard drive select screen to go back to OSX. Now I'm pretty much stuck as resetting nvram did nothing. Is there any tricks to selecting the original OSX boot drive to be selected on startup without using the option select screen?
    --- Post Merged, Nov 20, 2016 ---
    This has been solved. How do I delete a thread?
     
  2. ITguy2016 Suspended

    Joined:
    May 25, 2016
    #2
    I don't believe you can even if you're the one who created it. Having said that I'd recommend you post the fix so that others who may experience this issue can gain from your knowledge.
     
  3. mgmtm3 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2016
    #3
    Absolutely I would love to post a fix but after 4 hours of trying everything it just suddenly worked again after probably my 30th+ reboot messing with key combos and I wasn't really paying attention to what I was pressing at that point.
     
  4. i0sen macrumors newbie

    i0sen

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2015
    #4
    have you tried removing all Storage devices (including internal drives) and then booting with ALT key (holding it for a minute or two just to be sure) and then hit Enter ? For me this worked :)
     
  5. mgmtm3 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2016
    #5
    I did try this. Thank you for the tip though. I am still trying to figure out how to install bootcamp on this machine. I want to try again but I am pretty weary after the last attempt. Has anyone been able to install Win10 Bootcamp with a non-mac video card before? Also I have a 5870 mac edition but it also does not show any boot screens. Is this because I am using display port? 1440p monitor maybe?
     
  6. h9826790 macrumors G3

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #6
    The Apple Cinema Display is 1440P via mini display port. So, this should not be a matter to the 5870 with a Mac EFI ROM.
     
  7. ActionableMango macrumors G3

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #7
    I'm confused. A real Apple 5870 should definitely show boot screens.

    Also, how did you see the "no boot device detected" error if you aren't seeing boot screens?
     
  8. mgmtm3 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2016
    #8
    It is a real mac 5870. Does not show boot screens. I am seeing the error screen because that is when it gets to the bootcamp partition as that is a dos error.
     
  9. ActionableMango macrumors G3

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #9
    It should. Something is wrong with it. Try different cables and ports.
     

Share This Page