2010 Mac Pro Processor Upgrade

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by fotophil, Jul 18, 2013.

  1. fotophil macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    #1
    I have a 2010 Mac Pro with the stock 2.8 Quad Ghz CPU. I have following the DIY infortmation on installing a six core CPU in the 2010 and it appears to be a project within my reach. The 6 core CPU requires faster memory than my 2.8 CPU. I had hoped that all that was necessary was to replace the existing memory with faster memory but a local Apple Service Technician says that a hardware change is necessary for the computer to use fastger memory. I have not heaed of this situation before in my readings of Mac Pro CPU upgrades so I question the accuracy of the Apple Technician. What has been the practice of those who have made successful upgrades?

    Thanks
     
  2. JohnGrey macrumors 6502

    JohnGrey

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2012
    Location:
    Cincinnati Metro
    #2
    Hardware or firmware change?
     
  3. fotophil thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    #3
    2010 Mac Pro Upgrade

    He was not clear as to the tyoe of change required but he said it would not involve the logic board. In order for him to perform the CPU upgrade work he required that I remove and send him the processor tray from my 2010 Unit. He indicated that he would supply a new processor tray with the 6 core CPU already installed. The new processor tray would have been modified to use the fast memory. He implied that a simpe change of the CPU from a Quad to 6 core would not permit the use of fast memory. I don't know if this info is based on fact or his sales pitch to permote his turnkey upgrade servide. Since there are many folks who have upgrade 2010 Mac Pros to 6 core, I hope they can share their experiences.

    Thanks
     
  4. Studio K macrumors 6502

    Studio K

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013
    Location:
    United States
    #4
    I believe the only 'hardware change' required to enable faster 1333 Ram would be adding the new processor. No other changes required. It's a 2010 model, so the firmware is already in place to support faster ram.

    Your current CPU (2.8) does not support 1333 Ram. You CAN install and use the faster ram with that CPU but it will only use up to 1066.

    As far as I know, the w3680 six-core CPU supports 1333 Ram and 1066 Ram.

    My experience is this: I installed a w3570 into a 2009 Mac Pro. I also installed 1333 Ram. After a PRAM reset (and a firmware flash), the faster Ram was recognized and working.

    In your case, it's simpler. No firmware flash required.
     
  5. JohnGrey macrumors 6502

    JohnGrey

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2012
    Location:
    Cincinnati Metro
    #5
    Agreed. I have a 2009 Mac Pro that required a firmware flash up to 5,1 but that shouldn't apply to the mid-2010. The processor installation should handle the increased bus speed of the RAM, though that is that fastest clock supported by the recent iterations of the Mac Pro up through 2012.
     
  6. Studio K, Jul 18, 2013
    Last edited: Jul 18, 2013

    Studio K macrumors 6502

    Studio K

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013
    Location:
    United States
    #6
    To summarize succinctly:

    Either 1066 or 1333 Ram will work with either CPU (2.8 or 3.33 hex).

    The slower CPU (2.8) will use the 1333 ram as if it's 1066, so it does work.

    Your current RAM is supported by hex-core CPU, so there is no need to upgrade the ram if you don't want to.
     
  7. fotophil thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    #7
    2010 Mac Pro Precessor Upgrade

    So this means that my current processor board will work support the faster memory without any modifications. I wonder what the technician is thinking when he said that the memory slots on my existing processor board would not support faster memory. It sort of sounds like he is promoting his upgrade business by discouraging DIY folks with false information. Considering the $1600 cost of his upgrade service he seems that he has a fat profit margin since he keeps the original CPU. Pretty poor value service he is offering!!

    Thanks
     
  8. mac666er macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #8
    Thirded, I do have 1333 MHz RAM. The only change I did to the Mac Pro is put in new processors that took advantage of the speed. No other hardware or software change needed. Plug and play
     
  9. Studio K macrumors 6502

    Studio K

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013
    Location:
    United States
    #9
    $1600?!!! Ouch. The CPU costs $600 at the most. The ram far less. The only other expense is thermal paste. That costs EVEN less than the Ram.

    Do it yourself for less than half what he's asking. Only takes a couple of hours if you are meticulous.
     
  10. DPUser macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2012
    #10
    CPU swap takes 30-45 minutes if you are meticulous. 10-15 if you speed.

    I am running 24 gigs of 1066 RAM with my hex 3.33 and it works perfectly. My research suggests nominal performance boost (1-3%) would result from a move to 1333 RAM.

    I got my 3680 CPU at ProVantage for under $600 a year ago.
     
  11. JohnGrey macrumors 6502

    JohnGrey

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2012
    Location:
    Cincinnati Metro
    #11
    Yeah, that guy's a criminal, the kind that preys on first-timers or people that have no inclination to personal hardware upgrades, and they rely on their general lack of knowledge to bilk them out of serious coin. Sadly, both types of people are pretty common.
     
  12. fotophil thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    #12
    2010 Mac Pro Upgrade

    The $1600 cost is without RAM so the cost is even more excessive but the spreaing of false information is a bigger crime. It sure makes me wonder about the dealer who I thought used to provide value. The real vakue value to Mac Ussers comes from the MacRumors Forum!

    Thanks
     
  13. ticotoo macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    #13
    Upgrade it yourself

    Check out the "Hex 3.2 update from 2010 quad 2.8 photos new! CPU to use!" thread by philipma1957. He went to a lot of work to document the process with photos. I upgraded my 2010 2.8 to a 3.33 hex not problems. I kept my 1066 memory & after the upgrade & reseting the PRAM the memory shows as 1333.
    Anybody who quotes a $1600 price for doing the upgrade is ripping you off & I would not deal with them for anything.
     
  14. jasonvp macrumors 6502a

    jasonvp

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Location:
    Northern VA
    #14
    Yep. I did something similar. I upgraded my 2x2.4GHz 5,1 to 48GB of RAM first, and then upgraded the processors to 2x3.46GHz. The RAM I purchased was 1333MHz, but showed up as 1066MHz with the original Intel chips. As soon as the machine booted with the new chips, the memory showed up faster. See the before and after attachments.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  15. mcnallym macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    #15
    Reading then this would be your process if you went with the $1600 option.

    Release access latch on rear
    Release latches on processor tray
    Remove processor tray from mac pro

    Ship processor tray to local technician
    He transfers your ram to a processor tray already fitted with a w3680
    He then ships the new processor tray back to you

    Place new processor tray in you mac pro
    Secure the latches
    Reattach side and lock the rear access latch
    Boot up mac pro.

    Very simple to do, however no way can justify $1600 for that.
    Do apple have any reporting system, as this is the sort of thing where apple gets a bad rep for being expensive.

    It really isn't that difficult. Hardest part is cleaning off the old thermal paste and then adding the fresh paste evenly. There are certainly enough videos on you tube on how to do that as well.
     
  16. Studio K macrumors 6502

    Studio K

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013
    Location:
    United States
    #16
    I believe that the 45 minutes it will take for you to swap the CPUs is worth the $1000 you'll save by doing it yourself.
     
  17. rabidz7 macrumors 65816

    rabidz7

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2012
    Location:
    Ohio
    #17
    I haven't upgraded mac pros, but from amd systems it takes 15min to pop out the CPU, put rum on the top, take off the thermal paste, stick it back in the socket, it should be the exact same on a Pro.
     
  18. fotophil thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    #18
    2010 Mac Pro Upgrade

    Thanks for the input and it sure seems that I should check in to doing my own upgrade. Does anyone know if Apple Care is valid after such a CPU Upgrade?
    Perhaps keeping the old CPU is a good idea so the Mac Pro can be converted back to factory stock condition if Apple Service is required. When shopping for the new CPU is the proper identification "W3680 Xeon 3.33GH" sufficient or are there additional specifications? Provantage currently lists the processor for $585.83

    Thanks again and I although in the past I have purchased most of my Mac supplies from this dealer, I need to re-evaluate him for future purchases and certainly avoid his Turnkey Mac Pro Processor Upgrade Program.
     
  19. jasonvp macrumors 6502a

    jasonvp

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Location:
    Northern VA
    #19
    It takes longer. The recessed hex bolts holding the heat sink/fan unit in the CPU take a bit of time to remove. It's not difficult at all, just a bit time consuming.

    ----------

    Almost assuredly null and void after you do the upgrade. If you're digging into CPU swaps and whatnot, what's the concern re: Apple Care? Just fix whatever breaks yourself? ...
     
  20. Macsonic macrumors 65816

    Macsonic

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Location:
    Earth
    #20
    Maybe another option is wait for your Applecare to expire then do the upgrade on your processor. Normally, for repairs Apple always does a MRI on the machine and they may detect if your CPUs have been changed. An Apple service center told me Apple changed their repair policies and now requires MRI performed per repair.
     
  21. G-Mo macrumors 6502

    G-Mo

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2010
    Location:
    Auckland, NZ
    #21
    MRI must be performed before all repairs (unless machine does not boot, then it must be documented), and MRI run again after all repairs. Other diagnostics (NAD, Storage, Trackpad, etc) as required.

    Upgrading the CPU will definitely void your AppleCare, and any RAM upgrades will be warrantied by the manufacturer, not Apple.
     
  22. fotophil thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    #22
    2010 Mac Pro Upgrade

    The Apple Care would be invalid no matter who did the CPU changeout but if I reinstalled my old 2,8 GZ CPU would th Apple MIR test be able to detect the difference? I would love to find a 2010 6 core Mac Pro in the Apple Refurb Program but there have been a couple 2012 Units but no 2010 Units. I need a 2010 Mac Pro because I need to run 10.6.8 to support my RIP Program.
     
  23. MacUser2525 macrumors 68000

    MacUser2525

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #23
    Highly doubt it mine where I have done the swap is still under warranty for another 2 years if it ever dies in that time frame I am going to put back in the old cpu, ram and video card if still dead then back to Apple it goes.
     
  24. G-Mo macrumors 6502

    G-Mo

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2010
    Location:
    Auckland, NZ
    #24
    MRI won't detect it, but, if they were determined to find out, visual inspection and/or OS logs would reveal it.
     
  25. fotophil thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    #25
    2010 Mac Pro Upgrade

    Keeping the stock CPU, RAM, etc sounds like a good plan for a visit to the Apple Service Center. Do you suppose Apple could look at the thermal paste in the re-installed CPU and determine that it wasn't a factory installation? Are there any factory specs covering the torque of the bolts holding the heat sink that they could measure?
    Thanks again
     

Share This Page