2010 Mac Pro RAM Limit

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by DeeEss, Oct 25, 2012.

  1. DeeEss macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    #1
    Hi,

    Just wondering if we will be able to drop 32GB RAM sticks (96GB total) in my 3.3 6 Core when they are readily available and at a reasonable cost?

    Thanks,
     
  2. theSeb macrumors 604

    theSeb

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Location:
    Poole, England
    #2
    My understanding is that single CPU Mac Pros only support up to 48 GB of RAM. The dual CPU models can support up to 128 GB. But only 96 GB is usable in OS X. 128 GB is usable in Windows and Linux. I don't know if 32 GB RAM sticks will be supported. Best to wait for OWC to test.
     
  3. Umbongo macrumors 601

    Umbongo

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Location:
    England
    #3
    No because they are only available as LR-DIMMs which the Mac Pro does not support.
     
  4. theSeb macrumors 604

    theSeb

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Location:
    Poole, England
    #4
    I thought LR-DIMMs have been around since 2010. Why does the Mac Pro not support them?
     
  5. Umbongo macrumors 601

    Umbongo

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Location:
    England
    #5
    Requires a Bios/EFI update for Tylersburg and DIMMs weren't available to test and implement in time for the Mac Pro release. Not that I would expect Apple would anyway as it would have required a fair bit of man hours as it wasn't a simple thing to implement.
     
  6. Inconsequential macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
  7. theSeb macrumors 604

    theSeb

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Location:
    Poole, England
    #7
    Thank you. Your posts are always interesting and informative.
     
  8. Umbongo macrumors 601

    Umbongo

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Location:
    England
    #8
    Thanks :)
     
  9. DeeEss thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011

Share This Page