2010 Mac Pro w/ 3 displays & extra 8800 GT

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by MrLatte23, Apr 12, 2011.

  1. MrLatte23 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    #1
    Awaiting delivery of new Mac Pro with stock 5770 video card. Am I correct in thinking that I can attach three monitors (Samsung) and they'll all screen span? Not mirror, but stretched or shared desktop with the cursor moving from one screen to another.

    Also, can I pop in my NVIDIA 8800GT card, that I'm removing from my dead 1st gen. Mac Pro, and expect it to work and play nicely with the installed stock ATI.

    Thanks.
     
  2. davidlv macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Location:
    Kyoto, Japan
    #2
    You will need to get two active MDP to DVI adapters (Amazon has them for about $35 each), passive adapters will only work with up to 2 monitors. The Apple dual-link/active adapters will work but they are expensive, and if you don't need the dual link, they are overkill as well. The real issue is the resolution of the monitors, and you may need the dual-link/active expensive adapters depending on the monitor you connect. I don't know much about that, so maybe someone who knows for sure could chime in...:cool:
     
  3. Vylen macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #3
    That's assuming the Samsung monitors only have DVI inputs and no DisplayPort .. ports... Then yes, you would need some active adapters.

    But yes, the 3 monitors can plug in and "screen span" as you call it. It's just simply set from the Display sections of the System Preferences.

    As for the Nvidia 8800GT... I dunno. Don't have one. But, probably? If the 8800GT only needs 1 power connector - the 5770 will take 1 power connector leaving one spare.
     
  4. ActionableMango macrumors G3

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #4
    Any reason to keep it? It'll just use up power while generating heat and noise.
     
  5. MrLatte23 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    #5
    Hdtv...

    I previously had 4 DVI out's, three for the desktop and used the 4th for my HDTV when watching content from Hulu, Miro and within iTunes or via Front Row.
     

Share This Page