2010 Mac Pro will default to 64 bit kernel

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by DualShock, Aug 16, 2010.

  1. DualShock macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    #1
    FYI for prospective 2010 Mac Pro owners, it will default to the 64 bit kernel. Could have potential driver issues for devices with only 32 bit drivers (though it should be easy to switch to the 32 bit one).

    http://support.apple.com/kb/HT3770
     
  2. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
  3. jhmirage macrumors newbie

    jhmirage

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    #3
    Actually, this is pretty cool news, IMO.

    It's a sign that Apple is darn confident in all their internal drivers (not sure how much of an issue these were before) AND that they've wrangled what they would consider decent support from major manufacturers. I'm sure we'll still hear about issues with people unable to connect to their 5 year old camera or 8 year old printer or some such, but in general I'm happy to see Apple pushing the "mainstream" into 64-bit. (Maintstream here defined as non-server, I guess... not really consumer yet.)

    Anyway, thanks for pointing that out, DualShock.
     
  4. DualShock thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
  5. G4DP macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    #5
    10.6 decides what your machine starts in not the Mac itself.
     
  6. Cindori macrumors 68040

    Cindori

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Sweden
    #6
    no
     
  7. Inconsequential macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    #7
    My 2009 Mac Pro has been running in 64-bit mode since it's launch.

    No big deal tbh.
     
  8. Major Reeves macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Location:
    EUSSR
    #8
    Default 32-bit terminal command:
    sudo systemsetup -setkernelbootarchitecture i386

    Default 64-bit terminal command:
    sudo systemsetup -setkernelbootarchitecture x86_64
     
  9. Inconsequential macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    #9
    Why did you quote me for that? :confused:
     
  10. ouimetnick macrumors 68020

    ouimetnick

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2008
    Location:
    Beverly, Massachusetts
    #10
    Im guessing you need to hold down the keys 3 and 2 to boot into 32bit mode?
     

Share This Page