2010 MacBook Air Black Horizontal Line Across the Screen

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by asoksevil, Apr 19, 2017.

  1. asoksevil macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Location:
    Taipei, Taiwan
    #1
    I don't know when it started I just remember that i opened the lid today and saw it with the stripe already.

    As far as I know, it's not a GPU issue because connecting it to an external display does not show the problem... and I've tried plugging and unplugging the display cable (no results) so not sure if there anything else I can do before I consider buying an used screen.

    Any help would be much appreciated!
     

    Attached Files:

  2. keysofanxiety macrumors 604

    keysofanxiety

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    #2
    Hardware, LCD failure. Looks like it'll have to be a used screen. :(
     
  3. elf69 macrumors 65816

    elf69

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2016
    Location:
    Cornwall UK
    #3
    looks like screen fault to me.

    especially if not on externals.

    agree with last post
     
  4. asoksevil thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Location:
    Taipei, Taiwan
    #4
    Thanks for the quick reply guys!

    Just for reference I literally opened the MacBook, cleaned and reconnected the display cable.

    I'm somehow puzzled because yesterday was just fine, I played some games today and after waking it up it was just like this...
     
  5. elf69 macrumors 65816

    elf69

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2016
    Location:
    Cornwall UK
    #5
    pot luck.

    failing lcd panel.

    See it at work quite a bit.
     
  6. asoksevil thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Location:
    Taipei, Taiwan
    #6
    Is there anything I can do myself without having to buy a new screen? Could it be that the cable connecting them is a little bit loose?
     
  7. Willo34 macrumors regular

    Willo34

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2015
    Location:
    Netherlands
    #7
    You can try to check the cables, but seems like a new LCD to me...and as you would know...they are very expensive.
     
  8. asoksevil thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Location:
    Taipei, Taiwan
    #8
    How do you check if it's the cable if you don't have another cable?

    By the way it's funny that I actually passed the Apple hardware test (both the fast and slow one) and it found NO troubles. Could this be a software related issue? Or is it just Apple hardware test trolling me?

    I also realized than when I power up, the line looks kind of white and then change a to black. But I guess it can also change based on wallpaper or background.
     
  9. Willo34 macrumors regular

    Willo34

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2015
    Location:
    Netherlands
    #9
    You are going to have to order another cable im afraid if you want to be sure.....
    Pretty sure the hardware test was trolling you........
    I've seen this before and it's pretty certain it's your LCD.....
     
  10. asoksevil thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Location:
    Taipei, Taiwan
    #10
    Thanks, appreciate your input.

    I'll be visiting a local repair shop soon, where they will have the LCD cable and can test whether it's the cable or the entire screen.
     

Share This Page