2010 MacPro upgrade option

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Bug-Creator, Jul 3, 2016.

  1. Bug-Creator macrumors 6502

    Bug-Creator

    Joined:
    May 30, 2011
    Location:
    Germany
    #1
    So there is this 2010 2.8GHz quadcore I just bought (will pick it up later this evening) and while it should be sufficient for some year to come I'd still like to push it in some corners.

    - USB3, just buy any PCIe card or do I need something specific ?
    - it's only 1 CPU and I can't really upgrade to a 2nd (making it 8 or 12core) ?
    - RAM is limited to 48GB (16GB allready installed so not really a current issue) ?

    I also have a 60GB SSD I might want to put to use here. Can I somehow merge it with the installed 1TB HDD to a fusion drive ?
    If not whats yout opion and Seagate's Hyprid drives (have a smaller/older one in the G5 but that ain't used for OSX) ?
     
  2. flowrider, Jul 3, 2016
    Last edited: Jul 3, 2016

    flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #2
  3. owbp macrumors 6502a

    owbp

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2016
    Location:
    Belgrade, Serbia
    #3
    You should browse the topics, since every other is about upgrading 4,1-5,1 Mac Pro, but these are the things i can help you with:
    - USB3, Inateck KT4004 is basic and cheap plug & play option that most of us have;
    - You can upgrade it but it involves changing the daughterboard on your MP, you'll have to buy one with dual CPU slots;
    - regarding RAM, max is 64GB if you're using a dual-processor-capable Xeon (X56xx) or 56GB if you're using single-processor-capable Xeon (W36xx). If you buy dual processor daughterboard, max RAM is 128GB.

    I can't help you with fusion drives, since i never used one, but you'll find plenty of topics on that if you search "diy fusion drive" here or on the www. :)
     
  4. Andy2k, Jul 11, 2016
    Last edited: Jul 11, 2016

    Andy2k macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2015
    #4
    You can use any standard SATA SSD as your primary boot drive. The only caveat is it's built for 3.5" SATA drive. You'll have to buy an additional drive tray that fits a 2.5" SATA drive. You can find them at Amazon or eBay for pretty cheap. I have a 500 GB PNY SSD as my primary boot drive and an 1 TB HDD for extra storage in my 2010 MP. I can't recommend a hybrid drive. I have a computer with one and I can't tell the difference between it and a standard HDD. Just go with an SSD you won't be disappointed and you can get a 240 GB SSD for about $60.
     
  5. Bug-Creator thread starter macrumors 6502

    Bug-Creator

    Joined:
    May 30, 2011
    Location:
    Germany
    #5
    Allready created a Fusion drive with the 60GB SSD and a 1TB HD, SSD mounted wth the normal 3.5 bay. Stable enough for a stationery computer.

    As for the hybrid drives, guess they just don't work woth an OS bigger thme the SSD cache and swapping.
     
  6. CapnDavey macrumors 6502

    CapnDavey

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2015
    #6
    A friend of mine has one of those seagate hybrid drives in his I Mac he says it works great
     
  7. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #7
    ^^^^I have one, it's definitely faster than my other WD Black HDD. But no where near as fast as any of my 5 SSDs. 2 of which are mounted in the HDD bays.

    Lou
     

Share This Page