2010 Mini in 64 bit mode?

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by b-rad g, Mar 23, 2011.

  1. b-rad g macrumors 6502a

    b-rad g

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    #1
    Any reason to run the Mini in 64 bit mode? I know it automatically boots in 32 bit mode and the holding the "6" and "4" keys at startup will boot it into 64 bit mode. But are there any advantages to it (will Handbrake run faster)?

    I booted into 64 bit mode last night just for kicks and it took 2x as long to boot up and some quirky stuff happened once booted up.
     
  2. b-rad g thread starter macrumors 6502a

    b-rad g

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
  3. Kebabselector macrumors 68030

    Kebabselector

    Joined:
    May 25, 2007
    Location:
    Birmingham, UK
  4. b-rad g thread starter macrumors 6502a

    b-rad g

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    #4
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8F190 Safari/6533.18.5)

    Thanks. I Mroogled but didn't get that one. Consensus seems that unless using MASSIVE amounts of RAM then booting in 64 bit is pointless.
     
  5. systole macrumors member

    systole

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Location:
    Minnesnowta
    #5
    Ram

    The real question is how much ram does your system have currently. The rule of thumb is:

    If 2-4GB, the gains are nominal at best, however more memory can be addressed per single process.

    If 8+GB, and straight from the factory on a 2010+ mac it should be booting in 64 bit mode to address all the memory. However, if you reinstall OSX it reverts back to 32-bit mode. Your gains will be much better here b/c the system will see 4GB of memory in 32-bit mode and 8+ in 64-bit mode. This is why sever OSes are strictly 64-bit today. Also, you should be able to assign more memory per process.

    Hope that helps.
     
  6. b-rad g thread starter macrumors 6502a

    b-rad g

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    #6
    The Mini has 8gb RAM from OWC but I was under the impression that Mac OS easily used all of the 8gb in 32 bit mode and you would have to have somewhere around 32gb for it to benefit you to run in 6 bit mode.
     

Share This Page