2010 MP ATI 5870 + GT120 Possible ?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by skiffx, Aug 12, 2010.

  1. skiffx macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    #1
    I need to drive 4 DVI monitors: 30", 24" 2x22", plus preferably a 1080 LCD TV. I want to do an occasional gaming in windows, thus the dual 5770s are a possibility, however, there is no definitive answer yet, whether or not Ill be able to crossfire them in windows. And a single 5770 driving games, might not be enough in a year or so, thus as somebody suggested, it might be possible to get a 5870 for gaming and stick a gt120 to drive the 2x22" monitors in OSX only.

    However I was on the phone with an apple tech who said the 2010 MP's PSU wont handle anything beyond a single 5870. It was my understanding that the 2009 MP could have up to 3 or 4 gt120 at once. I dont know how these gt120s were connected in the '09 model so whoever has them might be of help. Since if you could drive 4 gt120s in '09, you would need 4 cable to power them up, or they didnt need any cables to power them up in the first place (?), or apple chopped off 2 cables from '10 PSU to divert all the power to the more powerful cards (which I doubt that tech would have the knowledge of).

    There is also an option of buying a single 5770 with the new MP, then selling it and flashing 2 PC 5770s to have the crossfire in windows for gaming and have them drive 4 monitors plus a TV in OSX.

    Sorry for the messy, lengthy question, but i really would appreciate any input so I can finally order the Mac I need.
     
  2. Cindori macrumors 68040

    Cindori

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Sweden
    #2
    the mac pro psu can even handle 2 5870. (but not enough cables for that in the 2010)


    yes, it will work fine with one, or two GT120.

    but remember, apples 5000 cards have only 1 dvi.
    I made a blog post about apple 5000 card outputs
    http://groths.org
     
  3. skiffx thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    #3
    Pardon my ignorance, but how will the secondary gt120 (5870 + gt120) work if there arent any power cables available to drive it? Or gt120 doesnt need one?!
     
  4. beto2k7 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Location:
    ::1
    #4
    The GT120 does not need cables.
     
  5. skiffx thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    #5
    Thank you all, now I can sleep at night and wait for my Hexa ;)
     
  6. aaronw1986 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    #6
    Did the cards work together even though they are different brands? Does anyone know if my 2008 Mac Pro would do ATI 5770 + GT120
     
  7. skiffx thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    #7
    yeh works fine, and should probably work on 07.
     

Share This Page