Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

postjack

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Feb 27, 2011
I just wanted to provide my initial impressions on my new 2011 13" MBP base model.

First and foremost, thank you to this community for the wealth of information available here. I've been reading the forums diligently for the past several months leading up to this purchase.

Second, I put a * next to first time user, since I did own a Mac several years ago, but the relationship didn't last long. I honestly can't remember, it was maybe 2003/2004? The computer was an iBook, and shortly after the 1 year warranty expired my logic board went out. The repair cost was $800. Of course now I know the wisdom of always buying the warranty on a laptop, but at the time I was a college student and my head was kind of fuzzy (partly why I don't remember exactly when I owned the iBook, it was a fuzzy time). So I said well forget Apple! and a short while later I bought a gigantic 17" HP monster, which died after about 18 months. :p

So I've been laptop free for a while, relying on various PC desktops, most recently one I'm quite fond of that I built myself a year and a half ago. Great gaming rig for the types of games I play, usually ones that are a few years older.