2011 Cinema Displays

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by -BigMac-, Apr 17, 2011.

  1. -BigMac- macrumors 6502a

    -BigMac-

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2011
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #1
    Hi guys,
    with the 27" ACD reaching end of cycle soon, i'm wondering what the new Cinema Displays might offer. There has been rumors of a 'new size' for the iMacs, do you think there is a chance for a new sized ACD? 24"? the old 30" size?
     
  2. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #2
    All I can see is the addition of Thunderbolt. I doubt Apple will go back to 30" and actually, 16:9 monitors like the current 27" are cheaper to manufacture.
     
  3. Arcadie macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    #3
    Im hoping for TB as well. Currently I have a 2006 imac and a 2009 macbook pro... Would love to sell both and get a 2011 MBP and new cinema display.

    Since (im assuming) the new displays will have TB, I would be cool if i could keep my ethernet cord plugged into my display and all power, peripherals, internet connection, etc traveled through the CD to the MBP via TB
     
  4. amarcus macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Location:
    London, UK
    #5
    I doubt we will be seeing any updates to the cinema display for awhile. Thunderbolt is not a necessary upgrade as the monitor is always intended to be at the end of the daisy chain.
     
  5. vincenz macrumors 601

    vincenz

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008
    #6
  6. -BigMac- thread starter macrumors 6502a

    -BigMac-

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2011
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #7
    yeaaaa.. it seems to be saying that thunderbolt and mini display port are the same thing.. which they are not :)
     
  7. Arcadie macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    #8
    end of the daisy chain??? the Apple CD is the "hub" if you will of converting the laptop into a desktop. Unlike the PC side were everything plugs into the laptop, everything plugs into the monitor and travels into the laptop.
     
  8. Joshuarocks macrumors 6502

    Joshuarocks

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere in Cyberspace
    #9
    So is the 24 inch as I tested it on a friend's 2011 macbook pro - no problems at all..
     
  9. kcdude macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    #10
    How would this work in a TB series with a MBP to a TB external enclosure?
     
  10. -BigMac- thread starter macrumors 6502a

    -BigMac-

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2011
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #11
    Thats fairly true, but surely the new Facetime camera + thunderbolt would be a good upgrade? I would delay purchase of the Display for the FT camera....
     
  11. Transporteur macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #12
    You may not be aware of it, but the Cinema already has a camera!

    FaceTime camera is nothing else but a rebranding of the old iSight name.
     
  12. peskaa macrumors 68020

    peskaa

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    Location:
    London, UK
    #13
    Not quite, the MBPs now have iSight/FaceTime HD cameras, so are no longer just VGA resolution. It's possible that Apple may do a silent bump to the ACDs to put the new higher resolution sensor in.
     
  13. Transporteur macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #14
    IIRC the cameras have always been 1.3MP (at least that was what Apple advertised them with). I'm not quite sure why they have been limited to 480p.

    Are the FaceTime cameras really different hardware?
     
  14. peskaa macrumors 68020

    peskaa

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    Location:
    London, UK
    #15
    Now you've got me there, but if it was a simple software switch to toggle the iSights/FaceTime cameras over to being super-sparkly FaceTime HD then I would assume Apple would simply just hit the button, rather than clearly delineating this new standard over the old and marking out the MBPs as having something new that can't be done on other machines.

    I may be wrong though, of course.
     
  15. finalcut macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    #16
    Only the same size port. My Cinema display uses the TB port of my Early 2001 MBP.

    When HDD manifacturer will release TB HDD, then the HDD will be connected to my MBP and the Ciname display will be connected to the HDD.
     
  16. amarcus macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Location:
    London, UK
    #17
  17. skyline r34 macrumors 6502

    skyline r34

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Location:
    San Diego
    #18
    You can't even buy a 27-inch LED Cinema at best buy at the moment, On-line their sold out, in-store pick up unavailable maybe new ones are on it's way with 720p camera and thunderbolt but who knows guess we have to wait until lion is released thinking on buying a second display for my setup
     
  18. colmaclean macrumors 68000

    colmaclean

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Location:
    Berlin
    #19
  19. CHSeifert macrumors 6502

    CHSeifert

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Location:
    Copenhagen, Denmark - Scandinavia
    #20
    Ships within 24 hours from the Danish Apple online store.....
     
  20. ugahairydawgs macrumors 68020

    ugahairydawgs

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    #21
  21. AppleDApp macrumors 68020

    AppleDApp

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2011
    #22
    How are they different? They both connect displays yes Tb has dual channels and faster transfer speeds but once you connect the display to a MBP you can use Tb.
     
  22. peskaa macrumors 68020

    peskaa

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    Location:
    London, UK
    #23
    Equally, somewhere like Best Buy isn't going to be selling a lot of 27"ers, and may not be so hot on keeping their stock current. No other reseller I've seen is short, if they stock them at all (many just restrict to the computers and some basic accessories).
     
  23. pattigranda macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011
    #24
    With the cost of many HDTVs going down, I ended up purchasing one of those and using it for my mac tower
     
  24. Ashok0 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    #25
    Yuck, 1920x1080? 2560x1440 IPS displays are the only way to go. :)
     

Share This Page