2011 imac additional monitor?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by cinek, Jun 19, 2011.

  1. cinek macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2011
    #1
    has anyone have a 2011 imac running with an additional monitior? Are there any issues?

    I'm trying to save up, and get the 21" & connect it to my dell u2711 - not sure if it's a good idea?
     
  2. Pipper99 macrumors 68000

    Pipper99

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Location:
    Fort Worth, TX
    #2
  3. cinek thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2011
    #3
    thanks, just one more thing probably a stupid question but I'd rather be sure. If I connect the 21" imac to my 27" dell, and make the dell primary monitor, I'll be able to use it with 2560x1440 resolution?
     
  4. Psilocybin macrumors 6502a

    Psilocybin

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    #4
    grab a utility called switchresx...its nice for enabling and disabling additional monitors
     
  5. cinek thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2011
    #5
    so without switchresx I won't be able to run my dell at 2560x1440?
     
  6. stroked Suspended

    stroked

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    #6
    No that isn't what he meant. That app just gives you more options.
     
  7. dfine1966 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2011
    #7
    I have my 2011 iMac 27 inch hooked up with my Samsung SyncMaster 226BW with no problems at all. Easy to setup in Mac and also Bootcamp with Windows 7. The Samsung has its own profile from the iMac in the settings area (Display). When you open that up on the iMac side it will show iMac settings(2560X1440) and when it is on my Samsung(1680x1050) it shows separate settings. You can mirror, continuous, etc. Very easy to connect with the mini displayport (Thunderbolt port) to DVI. I got the one that Apple sells and it works great. You can even have different Wallpaper for each
     
  8. Badger^2 macrumors 68000

    Badger^2

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Location:
    Sacramento
    #8
    I dont know what this post is for either. Switchres was great for CRTs which had multiple resolutions, but LCDs are meant to run at one resolution only: their native resolution. And switchrex is *totally* unnecessary to run dual monitors with. Useless for that function.

    iMacs have been able to run dual monitors ever since the G5 models -- and all you need is OS X.

    Plug it in and go.

    You can use a mini display port (iMac) to display port (u2711) cable, $5: http://www.monoprice.com/products/search.asp?keyword=mini+display+port&x=18&y=10

    You know, this is all covered on Apples site: http://www.apple.com/imac/specs.html

    [​IMG]
     
  9. Psilocybin macrumors 6502a

    Psilocybin

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    #9
    If you use multiple monitors with sl you will notice you can't disable the second monitor without unplugging it from the iMac. Switchresx is used to disable the second monitor without unplugging it. I dont bother with the other features of the program
     
  10. Badger^2 macrumors 68000

    Badger^2

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Location:
    Sacramento
    #10
    Fair enough. But it confused the OP more than helped.

    gotta be clear as to its "use" as a bonus above and beyond OS X native dual monitor support
     
  11. Psilocybin macrumors 6502a

    Psilocybin

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    #11
    ah my bad
     
  12. RoyalFlushAK(s) macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2011
    #12
    What to do with two big monitors :confused:
     
  13. nesafarm, Jul 29, 2011
    Last edited: Jul 29, 2011

    nesafarm macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    #13
    Hi Pipper99,
    And how about that setup with Lion installed? Works OK? I'm considering the very same setup so I'll appreciate your opinion now when Lion is here.
    Rgds,
    Nesha
     
  14. nightfly13 macrumors 6502a

    nightfly13

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Location:
    Ranchi, India
    #14
    A story about changing 'primary' monitors

    I'm sitting pretty with a 27" iMac and a 30" Dell. Despite the Dell's higher resolution, the superiority of the much-newer IPS (LED et all) iMac keeps it as my primary screen - which means my dock and menubar on the top are on the iMac (esp since I video conference a lot and the camera is there, too).

    So when I was early in my OS X days, I struggled in the menus to figure out how to 'move the clock' (or menubar, more accurately) from my 12" PowerBook to larger external LCD. It simply wasn't there in display preferences, or anywhere else! My ingrained Windows conditioning told me to keep searching submenus and eventually I'd find it.

    Finally I exhaled and took a step back. 'What's the most Apple-easy way to accomplish this?' I asked myself. I grabbed the menubar in the 'Arrangement' tab of Display Preferences with my mouse and dragged it over the the other screen. Voila! Elegant and brilliant. From then on, despite the crappiness of G4 architecture, there was no going back.
     

Share This Page