2011 iMac Graphics Card Upgrade

Status
The first post in this thread is a WikiPost, and can be edited by anyone with the appropriate permissions.

NOTNlCE

macrumors 6502a
Oct 11, 2013
986
163
Baltimore, MD
That's odd....See pic. Ram chips are clashing with the elevated section on the left. Also a tiny bit with the elevated section at the top..... So guess I need to use a shim on the chip so it is level. What do yours look like? Thanks
I see your concern now that I look at my heatsink. Both the raised sections around the copper slug have the original thermal pads on them on my heatsink, therefore preventing a short on the metal. See photo.

IMG_1783.JPG


EDIT:

K1100M is installed and flashed, so I can again confirm that with the thermal pads present there is no short on the heatsink. I suspect they are needed to avoid direct contact on the VRAM and the one coil in the top left.
 
Last edited:

makaveliz

macrumors newbie
Nov 24, 2019
7
2
Is this with the LCD off the iMac, if so this is normal as a thermal sensor is unplugged. If you still have no video holding the ALT key on startup or with the LCD off and an LCD plugged into thunderbolt, then it could be your "LVDS" cable. Someone here mentioned their fans ran on high and the iMac never booted because they damaged their LVDS Cable, you can check the pins on your LVDS cable for damage. Also please use a USB keyboard and check the status of your Caps Lock key after a few minutes of the fans at 100%, it could be booting.

Hello to all, I remonted the original video card and the screen is ok so it isn't problem of cable or other. With the new video card (quadro k2100 flashed) no screen, no system, nothing.

Why??? :(
 
Last edited:

bosscharles

macrumors member
Mar 3, 2013
30
1
I see your concern now that I look at my heatsink. Both the raised sections around the copper slug have the original thermal pads on them on my heatsink, therefore preventing a short on the metal. See photo.

View attachment 889422

EDIT:

K1100M is installed and flashed, so I can again confirm that with the thermal pads present there is no short on the heatsink. I suspect they are needed to avoid direct contact on the VRAM and the one coil in the top left.
What does your k1100 card look like when it is installed on that heatsink? Are you sure it is straight and not at an angle? I had to use a shim to raise up the contact surface on the heatsink so that the card was even.
 

periergos

macrumors newbie
Dec 8, 2019
7
0
hi! I want to ask if I flash my nvidia k2000m with nicks costum rom and the boot screen reappears then i can install majave or catalina from my el capitan config with the usual patch without any problems?
 

Huffers

macrumors newbie
Jan 18, 2020
3
0
Hi All
This is a great forum, really impressed with all the time and effort everyone puts in. I have been following for a while as I have 2 x iMac 2011 27” one has a faulty 2gb 6970 which i am currently trying to get repaired but really like the idea of getting a newer GPU inside. I have just purchased a Dell k3000m which I managed to get for a good price from the USA. I have seen some comments on here that it does support Metal so will run Mojave.
Before I make a start would welcome any advice on what steps I need to do to get a boot screen. I have the x clamp so know I need to remove the studs I also purchased the ch341a. Is there a vbios for the k3000m. Welcome any pointers and happy to share my experience and process on here. Many thanks
 

Ausdauersportler

macrumors member
Nov 25, 2019
50
23
Hi All
This is a great forum, really impressed with all the time and effort everyone puts in. I have been following for a while as I have 2 x iMac 2011 27” one has a faulty 2gb 6970 which i am currently trying to get repaired but really like the idea of getting a newer GPU inside. I have just purchased a Dell k3000m which I managed to get for a good price from the USA. I have seen some comments on here that it does support Metal so will run Mojave.
Before I make a start would welcome any advice on what steps I need to do to get a boot screen. I have the x clamp so know I need to remove the studs I also purchased the ch341a. Is there a vbios for the k3000m. Welcome any pointers and happy to share my experience and process on here. Many thanks
Hi, please just read page one of this forum. It contains, facts, links, hints and howtos to everything needed and to all your questions.
 

Huffers

macrumors newbie
Jan 18, 2020
3
0
Hi, please just read page one of this forum. It contains, facts, links, hints and howtos to everything needed and to all your questions.
Hi Ausdauersportler.
thanks for the reply. I have read pretty much most pages on this forum including page 1. But page one does not cover the K3000m and Nick[D]vb’s ROMs only mention the K1000m, K2000m and K2100m not the 3000 so I am unclear if any of the ROMs will work with this card. Plus on previous pages there has been some discussion but whether this card does or doesn’t support metal. Hence the question to see if anyone has experience of the K3000m first hand. Many thanks
 

rtowner75

macrumors newbie
Nov 9, 2019
3
2
Hey Guys - Thanks so much for everyones efforts and time put in to make all this work! I have installed and flashed roms to get the wx7100 up and running with dying light module. My question is regarding the 3.3v power for the dying light module. currently I have spliced into the sd card reader 3.3v power and all is working well. I tried to gracefully splice into these tiny wires without damaging them so as to still have a functioning sd card reader. this did not go so well. I would like to power the module from some other source. is there anywhere else I can get 3.3v from? I measured voltage where the logic board gets power from and found 3.3v there, but strangely enough when I try to use this, the voltage drops and it does not work. any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance!
 
Last edited:

Roman78

macrumors 6502
May 7, 2018
298
86
Eifel - Germany
Someone on a German Forum told me that there is a method already for the K1100M to bring back the brightness control. I read the last five pages, but i could not find any information about that.

Is it true or just an Urban legend :D
 

boy80

macrumors newbie
Oct 16, 2017
6
0
just a update

so I installed the flashed k1000m into a 2009 imac (one with a 256megs ati4670 mxm card. and it will chime but screen will stay dark not sure if it booted up, but screen was blank. .... so that doesnt work.

Put the same card into a 2011 21.5" imac and it booted up no prob, and works as t should. Holding alt down brings up the boot screen.

Going to try the k2100m next in my 27" imac, and also try installing catalina!

Thx
 
Last edited:

bosscharles

macrumors member
Mar 3, 2013
30
1
It seems St. Nick is running a few days late this year, 🎅
or maybe a few weeks early, depending on where you live…

Quadro roms attached, for the following cards:

K1000M, K1100M, K2000M, & K2100M

They all have CoreEG2 integrated so no boot-rom mod required.
The clocks should also be unlocked in windows (not P5 limited)
and they have a moderate over-clock which should be stable.

Thanks to @highvoltage12v for running the K2X stability tests,
so if your iMac crashes, for any reason, it’s totally his fault ! ;)

I have native brightness control & Target Display Mode working
so far only on the two newer cards (K1100M & K2100M)

At the moment this will require using the OpenCore boot-loader
to do some ACPI injection, and maybe load some additional Kexts.

I’m working on a plug-n-play version that runs from a USB stick,
but there are still some things to fix so that may be a few weeks out.


Not forgetting the red team…

I worked out what was limiting the boost clocks in MacOS,
these Beta3 roms should now be completely un-limited.

I’ve also included an over-clocked version - but be careful,
it will produce a lot more heat so make sure you crank the fans up!

I’m still working on a fix for that code 43 driver issue in Windows,
and hoping we can use OpenCore to work-around the problem,
as it can also be used to enable “iMacPro” HEVC encoding for FCPX etc.

The boot-rom mod is still required for AMD, probably always will be,
It’s included here but there are no changes so no need to re-apply it.



UPDATE for K1100M !

Well this is embarrassing... turns out I'm an idiot! :rolleyes:
I accidentally uploaded the wrong file for the K1100M
If you downloaded the previous version do not flash it.
No other cards effected, I have updated the download.


🎅
Hi Nick, first of all thanks so much for breathing new life into these machines. They are awesome and perfectly suitable to the average computer user. I'm loving running Catalina on a 27 3.4 i7 2011. I have a few questions for you, would appreciate your input.

I used your k1100 to flash what supposedly was an HP k1100 card with 1GB ram. On the iMac with your bios it shows 2gb. Do you have 1gb and 2gb variants of the bios? Or does it automatically detect ram and display on about this Mac? it may well be that the card I sourced is 2gb and the seller mislabelled, I have no idea.

You mention you have brightness natively working on the k1100 card however using the brightness buttons on the keyboard doesn't work? I downloaded brightness slider and that works however from 50%-100% the brightness doesn't change, 50% and lower it does seem to work.

Again, thank you so much for your work. I'm a big advocate for right to repair and reducing e-waste, props to you!
 

Terros

macrumors member
Mar 2, 2011
42
4
Got Catalina running like a beaut on iMac now 2011/i7/16gb/1tb ssd/780M

I do think my 780M is overheating and crashing the machine when gaming, hitting 80c+

Setting a temp limit in Afterburner seems to help of about 78'c (which it then begins to throttle), going to need to apply more paste and probs remove the DVD drive for more airflow.

Not sure if its the VRAM etc getting too hot, what paste did you guys use on the chips? normal thermal paste?
 

Roman78

macrumors 6502
May 7, 2018
298
86
Eifel - Germany
Ah... found it thanks toe the post above.

It seems St. Nick is running a few days late this year, 🎅
or maybe a few weeks early, depending on where you live…

Quadro roms attached, for the following cards:

K1000M, K1100M, K2000M, & K2100M

They all have CoreEG2 integrated so no boot-rom mod required.
The clocks should also be unlocked in windows (not P5 limited)
and they have a moderate over-clock which should be stable.

Thanks to @highvoltage12v for running the K2X stability tests,
so if your iMac crashes, for any reason, it’s totally his fault ! ;)

I have native brightness control & Target Display Mode working
so far only on the two newer cards (K1100M & K2100M)

At the moment this will require using the OpenCore boot-loader
to do some ACPI injection, and maybe load some additional Kexts.

I’m working on a plug-n-play version that runs from a USB stick,
but there are still some things to fix so that may be a few weeks out.


Not forgetting the red team…

I worked out what was limiting the boost clocks in MacOS,
these Beta3 roms should now be completely un-limited.

I’ve also included an over-clocked version - but be careful,
it will produce a lot more heat so make sure you crank the fans up!

I’m still working on a fix for that code 43 driver issue in Windows,
and hoping we can use OpenCore to work-around the problem,
as it can also be used to enable “iMacPro” HEVC encoding for FCPX etc.

The boot-rom mod is still required for AMD, probably always will be,
It’s included here but there are no changes so no need to re-apply it.



UPDATE for K1100M !

Well this is embarrassing... turns out I'm an idiot! :rolleyes:
I accidentally uploaded the wrong file for the K1100M
If you downloaded the previous version do not flash it.
No other cards effected, I have updated the download.


🎅
So i allready had that vBios installed. Just double checked the files via CHR64 and those are identical. But i don't have native brightness control. So what exactly do i have to do, to get brightness control? OpenCore boot-loader sound like hackintosh....
 
  • Like
Reactions: jborko

=TheONE=

macrumors newbie
Dec 23, 2019
3
4
Hello Friends! Sorry that I am writing off topic, but I really need the help of a person with the CH341A programmer! I really need a firmware dump AP4C from the HDD Apple ST31000528AS 1TB. Help me please. Thanks!
 

Attachments

Jasperjaks

macrumors newbie
Jun 30, 2019
2
0
Hi everybody,

I currently own a 2010 27 iMac still with the old working GPU. Also bought a 780m recently.
I was thinking about upgrading to the 2011 Model and then switching the GPU.

However, I would like to use Target Display Mode since I am using a Surface Book as my portable Device.
I read somewhere that this will be possible with the 780m in the future but probably not with the WX7100?

I appreciate any info on this topic. Thanks!
 

PolyphemusNL

macrumors newbie
Jan 19, 2020
1
1
Just to let you guys know, I just successfully flashed a HP (not a Dell) K1100M with Nick[D]vb’s ROM, and put it in my 2011 iMac 27. While I was at it, installed an SSD and installed Catalina :)

Thanks for all your help in this topic everyone! :)
 
  • Like
Reactions: Jay6

nikey22

macrumors newbie
Dec 3, 2019
27
14
Canada
When you guys install either Catalina or Mojave, are you using APFS or MacOS Extended (Journaled)?
I'm assuming you guys are using Dosdude1's Installer tools.

@highvoltage12v , do you know if Dosdude1's patcher has your sleep/wake kexts integrated into it (post#3271 & #3574)?
 
Last edited:

bosscharles

macrumors member
Mar 3, 2013
30
1
When you guys install either Catalina or Mojave, are you using APFS or MacOS Extended (Journaled)?
I'm assuming you guys are using Dosdude1's Installer tools.
Pretty sure you have got to use APFS.
- - Post merged: - -

Hello Friends! Sorry that I am writing off topic, but I really need the help of a person with the CH341A programmer! I really need a firmware dump AP4C from the HDD Apple ST31000528AS 1TB. Help me please. Thanks!
Here you go.
 

Attachments

Last edited:
  • Like
Reactions: =TheONE=

highvoltage12v

macrumors 6502a
Mar 27, 2014
518
371
When you guys install either Catalina or Mojave, are you using APFS or MacOS Extended (Journaled)?
I'm assuming you guys are using Dosdude1's Installer tools.

@highvoltage12v , do you know if Dosdude1's patcher has your sleep/wake kexts integrated into it (post#3271 & #3574)?
They do, but not for the right reason, they are installed with all the other Graphics kexts, which breaks our iMacs from proper functionality with a Metal supported card. He could fix this by creating a separate "iMac graphics patch" checkbox for the patcher, but never answered my PM's. So we all have to do it my way.

You could show package contents of Mac OS post install and extract them yourself. On Catalina you also need the IOsurface.kext (you have to build it from his patcher, not complete) and add the MCCSControl.kext
 

Huffers

macrumors newbie
Jan 18, 2020
3
0
Got it working :).
I am using a dell Quadro K3000M 2Gb. I have anouther 2011 27" iMac, I might try a K3100M in it. Pretty sure it needs to be a Dell or Alienware card, I have never herd of anyone getting an HP card working.

I tried installing El Capitan (via pulling the HD and installing with a different Mac) started the computer, took forever the first time, but the screen came on and worked perfectly. I may try sierra again, i think the only problem is that kext file. It doesn't matter at this point though El Capitan is fine.

Thermals on this card are good, ran the Valley benchmark at the highest preset and topped out at 76C, idle is around 50C. This card is not a large upgrade from the stock (though it is decent upgrade from the 1Gb 6970M mine had), it does make a great replacement for a dead card, at a reasonable price. I got mine for a steal ar $40 but they are easily found on ebay at around $75.

I can provide screen shots and benchmark results upon request.

Note: Anyone looking to use a K3000M, I can only confirm that one from a Dell will work, I have not tried the HP one.
Hi
Just wanted to confirm, do you have the K3000m in an iMac 2011? Are you still running El Capitan? I have. 27 iMac 2011 and a K3000m from a Dell but having trouble so looking for someone who may have it working, so far only seen 2009 iMac with this GPU. Many thanks
 

highvoltage12v

macrumors 6502a
Mar 27, 2014
518
371
Got a Clip programmer but only Shows ff or 00. ****ing annoying. Will try installing Windows instead
What that means is you don't have a good connection. Unfortunately sometimes it take 5-10 tires to get it right. And sometimes it will appear it's working, but Everytime you press "detect" different values will show up. It's kind of an art you have to get down. I always look it up close and at eye level.

Another tip, use a USB-A extension cable to stop the clip from falling off.
 

David Hornig

macrumors newbie
Dec 14, 2019
11
1
What that means is you don't have a good connection. Unfortunately sometimes it take 5-10 tires to get it right. And sometimes it will appear it's working, but Everytime you press "detect" different values will show up. It's kind of an art you have to get down. I always look it up close and at eye level.

Another tip, use a USB-A extension cable to stop the clip from falling off.
I gave it like 50-70 tries on different cards 😅
 

Kouiderdream

macrumors newbie
Apr 7, 2019
20
2
Luxembourg
Got Catalina running like a beaut on iMac now 2011/i7/16gb/1tb ssd/780M

I do think my 780M is overheating and crashing the machine when gaming, hitting 80c+

Setting a temp limit in Afterburner seems to help of about 78'c (which it then begins to throttle), going to need to apply more paste and probs remove the DVD drive for more airflow.

Not sure if its the VRAM etc getting too hot, what paste did you guys use on the chips? normal thermal paste?
Hi
Have you installed mac fan?
 
Status
The first post in this thread is a WikiPost, and can be edited by anyone with the appropriate permissions.