Become a MacRumors Supporter for $25/year with no ads, private forums, and more!
  • Did you order new AirTags? We've opened a dedicated AirTags forum.
Status
The first post of this thread is a WikiPost and can be edited by anyone with the appropiate permissions. Your edits will be public.

nikey22

Contributor
Dec 3, 2019
140
628
ON, Canada
** NVIDIA Quadro K3000M Mac Edition ROM **
Genuine Native Boot Screen & Brightness Control


K3000M_Macrumors.png

Preamble:
These cards are designed with a PCI legacy 2.3 architecture (2002). This is reflected in their roms which has led to some trouble developing a compatible rom for the iMac. My rom has a modest clock table boost as well. These workstation Quadro cards really boost well.

Pre-installation Requirements:
- iMac (27-inch, Mid 2011) , model: A1312 (EMC 2429) Mac-942B59F58194171B (Test machine)
- BootROM: 87.0.0.0.0. Please use High Sierra to update your BootROM to latest version.
- Nvidia Quadro K3000M, GPU Variant: N14E-Q1-A2 Dell or HP
- Heatsink 3-pipe with appropriate clearance mods for the inductors


Post-installation Requirements:
Brightness Control Stepping Mod:
-Turn computer on, hold down Command(⌘)-R
-Choose Utilities > Terminal
-Enter:csrutil disable
-Reboot
-Download and open 'Kext Utility v2.6.6'
-Navigate to S/L/E (System/Library/Extensions)
-Copy "AppleBacklight.kext" to Desktop
-Edit: AppleBacklight.kext/Contents/Info.plist
-Scroll down to: IOKitPersonalities > AppleIntelPanelA > ApplePanels
-There you find several Apple LCD profiles.
-For the iMac 2011 27" machine locate:
Code:
<key>F10Ta007</key>
<data>
ABEABgALABQAHAAnADMAPwBOAFwAZwBzAIEAkQClAL8A2wD/
</data>
-Change the <data> section to:
ABEAAgA3AF8AigCzAOsBJAFnAakB1AIJAlQCogL4A00DlgRpBGk=
-Drag your modded kext into Kext Utility, allow it correct permissions
-Applebacklight.kext.bak folder will be created
-Reboot

The above data pattern will allow for a wider span of steppings for the brightness control and utilizes more of the capacity of the HD3000. If you have a different machine, your panel ID can be found by going to System Preferences > Displays > Color > Open Profile > mmod

Caveats post-install/Bugs:
-16bit resolution glitch of UGA_DRAW_PROTOCOL - temporary solution: activate a sleep cycle
- WSON based bios chip. Clip rescue is not possible

Updates:
12-8-2020: detuned card to more reasonable clock speeds for better stability


Insanely Great!
K3100M 2020-10-27 at 4.24.39 PM.png BigSur_K3000M.png
 

Attachments

  • K3000M_V4.zip
    167.4 KB · Views: 22
Last edited:
Comment

MarKur78

macrumors newbie
Jun 14, 2020
8
6
Hi .. May somebody tell me, whether the "Hardware Video Accelaration"(NVENCODE) for Kepler Cards in Big Sur is still possible ? Actually I've an iMac 2010 with K2100m booting over OC 0.6.3. In Catalina I could start Parsec and PS4-Remote Play with Hardware-Decoder, but in Big Sur there is no Hardware-Decoder anymore, because of that PS4-Remote crashes ..

Thanks ..
 
Comment

Ausdauersportler

macrumors 68030
Nov 25, 2019
2,744
2,769
Hi .. May somebody tell me, whether the "Hardware Video Accelaration"(NVENCODE) for Kepler Cards in Big Sur is still possible ? Actually I've an iMac 2010 with K2100m booting over OC 0.6.3. In Catalina I could start Parsec and PS4-Remote Play with Hardware-Decoder, but in Big Sur there is no Hardware-Decoder anymore, because of that PS4-Remote crashes ..

Thanks ..
Please read post #1 and the Big Sur section there or search for my other recent announcements about Big Sur on these iMacs...
 
Last edited:
Comment

BadBiscuit

macrumors regular
Jan 9, 2020
102
68
Kentucky, USA
** NVIDIA Quadro K3000M Mac Edition ROM **
...

Pre-installation Requirements:
- iMac (27-inch, Mid 2011) , model: A1312 (EMC 2429) Mac-942B59F58194171B (Test machine)
...
-For the iMac 2011 27" machine locate:
Code:
<key>F10Ta007</key>
<data>
ABEABgALABQAHAAnADMAPwBOAFwAZwBzAIEAkQClAL8A2wD/
</data>
-Change the <data> section to:
ABEAAgA3AF8AigCzAOsBJAFnAakB1AIJAlQCogL4A00DlgRpBGk=
@nikey22, Indeed good news and thank you for all your efforts. Especially since that card (at the moment) can be found at a reasonable price. I see under requirement listed: "iMac (27-inch, Mid 2011)"; can I infer the iMac 27-inch Late 2009 or Mid 2010 do not work with this, or is that just yet to be determined? If by chance other 27" machines may work, then would the <data> section likely be a different for them?
 
Comment

Ausdauersportler

macrumors 68030
Nov 25, 2019
2,744
2,769
@nikey22, Indeed good news and thank you for all your efforts. Especially since that card (at the moment) can be found at a reasonable price. I see under requirement listed: "iMac (27-inch, Mid 2011)"; can I infer the iMac 27-inch Late 2009 or Mid 2010 do not work with this, or is that just yet to be determined? If by chance other 27" machines may work, then would the <data> section likely be a different for them?
Not tested in any other machine and the data will be the same, the display different.

A fair warning:

I own two brand new Dell labeled K3000M cards not posting in any iMac 2011. We will likely experience issues exactly as with the AMD cards. Have not tested this new BIOS, but the first one published in May or June within an iMac 2009. Have fun on eBay :)
 
Comment

BadBiscuit

macrumors regular
Jan 9, 2020
102
68
Kentucky, USA
Not tested in any other machine and the data will be the same, the display different.

A fair warning:

I own two brand new Dell labeled K3000M cards not posting in any iMac 2011. We will likely experience issues exactly as with the AMD cards. Have not tested this new BIOS, but the first one published in May or June within an iMac 2009. Have fun on eBay :)
@Ausdauersportler: Thanks, much appreciated. I ordered a couple of them as replacement spares, or to try if I have cause to tear down a 27" machine. Hoping my boot luck with them is better than yours. :)

BTW, Also want to thank you for all the Big Sur iMac install work. I updated one machine last night and it could not have gone more smoothly. My OC image is still v0.6.0, and noticed you've updated profiles since, so planning to update that next, then do some more Big Sur installing.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Ausdauersportler
Comment

tuzmaster

macrumors newbie
Aug 4, 2020
13
13
Russia
Anybody know what I need to do on my iMac to fix the backlight leveling? After update to the current build of Big Sur I have lost a maximum level. Leveling works...
 
Comment

grzegorz9141

macrumors newbie
Oct 7, 2018
16
13
** NVIDIA Quadro K3000M Mac Edition ROM **
Genuine Native Boot Screen & Brightness Control


View attachment 1666544

Preamble:
These cards are designed with a PCI legacy 2.3 architecture (2002). This is reflected in their roms which has led to some trouble developing a compatible rom for the iMac. My rom has a modest clock table boost as well. These workstation Quadro cards really boost well.

Pre-installation Requirements:
- iMac (27-inch, Mid 2011) , model: A1312 (EMC 2429) Mac-942B59F58194171B (Test machine)
- BootROM: 87.0.0.0.0. Please use High Sierra to update your BootROM to latest version.
- Nvidia Quadro K3000M, GPU Variant: N14E-Q1-A2 Dell or HP
- Heatsink 3-pipe with appropriate clearance mods for the inductors

Post-installation Requirements:
Brightness Control Stepping Mod:
-Turn computer on, hold down Command(⌘)-R
-Choose Utilities > Terminal
-Enter:csrutil disable
-Reboot
-Download and open 'Kext Utility v2.6.6'
-Navigate to S/L/E (System/Library/Extensions)
-Copy "AppleBacklight.kext" to Desktop
-Edit: AppleBacklight.kext/Contents/Info.plist
-Scroll down to: IOKitPersonalities > AppleIntelPanelA > ApplePanels
-There you find several Apple LCD profiles.
-For the iMac 2011 27" machine locate:
Code:
<key>F10Ta007</key>
<data>
ABEABgALABQAHAAnADMAPwBOAFwAZwBzAIEAkQClAL8A2wD/
</data>
-Change the <data> section to:
ABEAAgA3AF8AigCzAOsBJAFnAakB1AIJAlQCogL4A00DlgRpBGk=
-Drag your modded kext into Kext Utility, allow it correct permissions
-Applebacklight.kext.bak folder will be created
-Reboot

The above data pattern will allow for a wider span of steppings for the brightness control and utilizes more of the capacity of the HD3000. If you have a different machine, your panel ID can be found by going to System Preferences > Displays > Color > Open Profile > mmod

Caveats post-install:
-16bit resolution glitch of UGA_DRAW_PROTOCOL
- 4096MB instead of 2048MB reported by memvendorID data, looking into it.
- please remember this is a WSON based card. Clip rescue is not possible



Insanely Great!
Veri nice work but what About GTX765? Will U also updated flash to support native brightness control?
 
Comment

Rassmusen

macrumors newbie
May 19, 2020
10
8
I have a 2011 27 imac that has been upgraded to 860M and is currently running Catalina with boot screen. I noticed that I don't have the latest firmware 87.0.0.0.0 and the upgrade path seems to be reinstall High Sierra to get the latest firmware. When I try to reinstall HS from a USB drive i made with createinstallmedia it starts to boot, shows the progress bar until about 2/3 then shows the circle with line through it. Is this related to the Nvidia card change and I need to patch the installer?
Thanks
 
Comment

Ausdauersportler

macrumors 68030
Nov 25, 2019
2,744
2,769
I have a 2011 27 imac that has been upgraded to 860M and is currently running Catalina with boot screen. I noticed that I don't have the latest firmware 87.0.0.0.0 and the upgrade path seems to be reinstall High Sierra to get the latest firmware. When I try to reinstall HS from a USB drive i made with createinstallmedia it starts to boot, shows the progress bar until about 2/3 then shows the circle with line through it. Is this related to the Nvidia card change and I need to patch the installer?
Thanks
This is odd. Possibly try a PRAM reset before booting into the installer. I have not seen this before.
You might have a bad copy or bad USB stick.
 
Comment

Lady Titan

macrumors member
Aug 30, 2020
78
16
I did not manage to get iMac 21 2010 to work on Mini DisplayPort as a second monitor for iMac 27 2011 gtx880m I did not find an answer for this I write here, will iMac 21 work if I install one of the cards offered from the first page on it? or let it go? I bought it for the second monitor and it does not work(( do I have any chances, if you say that they are not, then I will sell it and be done with it...
 
Comment

KennyW

macrumors 6502
Sep 5, 2007
334
256
Got the 3rd AMD card, the WX4130, since I still prefer their higher metal score with no need for heatsink mod.
A Dell version 00_02 v343 VER 1.1

WX4130.jpg

I removed the LCD panel, disconnected all internal SSDs, connected the Linux Flash USB drive to one of the USB port, and the miniDisplayPort to an external monitor (not expecting anything anyway without flashing).
To my surprise, the external monitor lighted up with the Linux OS.
Thus I abandoned the flashing via SSH and explored further by removing the Linux drive and reconnecting my SSD with a High Sierra and a Catalina partition, the later of which was installed by DosDude Catalina patcher but with Legacy Video patch disabled.
It booted into High Sierra without problem in full function with external display.
Via Startup Disk in System Preference, I switched to the Catalina partition and achieved the same result.

About Box (Dell Bios).jpg

There is full metal support for external display.

GPU Info.jpg

I put back the LCD panel and rebooted but the internal display wouldn't light up despite the external display worked flawlessly.
Thus I had to flash the GOP BIOS listed in the 1st post by the Linux Flash USB drive by disconnecting all internal drives again.

Linux Flash.jpg

This is the final result after the flashing. Both internal and external display work.

GPU Info new.jpg

With OpenCore 0.6.3 in a SD card, hardware acceleration works by setting it to Startup Disk.
There is native brightness control and Sleep.

VideoProc.jpg

Some benchmark:

Unigine Valley Benchmark.jpg

Metal Score.jpg

The 3 pipe heatsink really needs a copper plate for the GPU. The temperature difference between the GPU and heatsink dropped significantly after I made that modification:

MacsFanControl.jpg

At the same time, I also relocated and preserved the Wifi/BT function with PCIe splitters from the mPCIe slot to install an additional USB 3.0 PCIe card in place of the DVD drive. But that is another story to be told in the corresponding thread of USB 3 for iMac mid 2010.

USB 3.jpg

Cheerio.
 
Last edited:
Comment

Rassmusen

macrumors newbie
May 19, 2020
10
8
This is odd. Possibly try a PRAM reset before booting into the installer. I have not seen this before.
You might have a bad copy or bad USB stick.
Thanks. i tried on a new stick an no change. Does anyone have a link to redownload the installer for High Sierra? I got this by using DosDude1's patcher to download it.
 
Comment

Rosiaantje

macrumors newbie
Nov 15, 2020
1
1
Hi all,

First of all I want to thank everbody involved in making this possible!
it's so great that some people still taking care for our beloved iMac's!

I tried to search this tread and form's but can't find the fix.

I have an 2011 27 inch i7 iMac.
Off course my graphic card died.
So I got my hands on an gtx780m.
Flashed it with the Nick[D]vB firmware succesfully.

installed macOS Catalina with the patcher. (10.15.6)

As I read the gtx780m should have native brightness..!?
Tried everything but now brightness showing on my machine.
Nor reaction on the brightness keys on keyboard.

Tried it also on High Sierra same problems with brightness.
tried the kext witch should fix the range.. no change.
(okay maybe I had to have brightness first before it can fix the range ;-)

Is there any one who had the same or can point me in the right direction?

Thanks al lot! Rosiaantje
 
Last edited:
  • Like
Reactions: iPlasm
Comment

Ausdauersportler

macrumors 68030
Nov 25, 2019
2,744
2,769
Hi all,

First of all I want to thank everbody involved in making this possible!
it's so great that some people still taking care for our beloved iMac's!

I tried to search this tread and form's but can't find the fix.

I have an 2011 27 inch i7 iMac.
Off course my graphic card died.
So I got my hands on an gtx780m.
Flashed it with the Nick[D]vB firmware succesfully.

installed macOS Catalina with the patcher. (10.15.6)

As I read the gtx780m should have native brightness..!?
Tried everything but now brightness showing on my machine.
Nor reaction on the brightness keys on keyboard.

Tried it also on High Sierra same problems with brightness.
tried the kext witch should fix the range.. no change.
(okay maybe I had to have brightness first before it can fix the range ;-)

Is there any one who had the same or can point me in the right direction?

Thanks al lot! Rosiaantje
Wrong BIOS, check first post and table there. You need the version @nikey22 posted.
 
  • Like
Reactions: iPlasm
Comment

BeatCrazy

macrumors 68030
Jul 20, 2011
2,845
1,509
@Ausdauersportler thank you for your new 0.6.3 files for Big Sur. I was able to create a Catalina Loader that now boots into Big Sur and gives Brightness controls :D

Two questions/concerns:

1) After I Option/Boot into Catalina Loader, I choose my Big Sur volume from the OC picker. There is about 25 seconds of verbose output displayed. I have not seen this before. In my .plist/OCC I do see under UEFI that "Hide Verbose" is checked. Not sure if that is related to what I'm seeing?
2) More serious - after every reboot, after login screen I do get a pop-up error "You shut down your computer because of a problem". Notice it is not the "Your computer was restarted because of a problem" error.

Any ideas?

EDIT: I think I cleared issue #2 above with a SMC reset aka unplug for 10 minutes :)

Still would appreciate any thoughts you have on the verbose output, thanks.

EDIT #2 for verbose issue#1 above: with some trial and error, I removed "-v" from boot-args within NVRAM. Looks good now!
 
Last edited:
Comment

Nguyen Duc Hieu

macrumors 6502a
Jul 5, 2020
870
197
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Thanks. i tried on a new stick an no change. Does anyone have a link to redownload the installer for High Sierra? I got this by using DosDude1's patcher to download it.

A clean install of High Sierra may not work if you have already upgraded the GPU and using the Catalina loader SD.
I tried a clean install of High Sierra using the USB installer (createinstallmedia command) but it stopped at the step of initiating the new OS. Boot screen work well, files were copied to the new SSD, it stopped at the second booting from the new SSD.
This does not worry me, as I already have a back-up HDD with High Sierra OS store away. If something screw-up, I just take it out and clone to another drive to run.

Having a small HDD as back-up plan is very handy. You always have an known--to-be-working OS disk to check hardware faults.
 
Comment

Ausdauersportler

macrumors 68030
Nov 25, 2019
2,744
2,769
A clean install of High Sierra may not work if you have already upgraded the GPU and using the Catalina loader SD.
I tried a clean install of High Sierra using the USB installer (createinstallmedia command) but it stopped at the step of initiating the new OS. Boot screen work well, files were copied to the new SSD, it stopped at the second booting from the new SSD.
This does not worry me, as I already have a back-up HDD with High Sierra OS store away. If something screw-up, I just take it out and clone to another drive to run.

Having a small HDD as back-up plan is very handy. You always have an known--to-be-working OS disk to check hardware faults.
Hi

I do not understand this post. After GPU swap I can install High Sierra all the time on any modded iMacs using my prepared USB installer.

But in most case I am going straight ahead to Catalina and now Big Sur all the time...

What is difficult to achieve or watch is the iMac firmware upgrade without the Apple GPU since the very special EFI code showing this on screen does not exist on the new VBIOS of the Kepler or Polaris cards. But it works in general with a mainly black screen causing a load beep tone at the end. Just give it some time and most importantly install all High Sierra upgrades, the firmware upgrade is included in these updates, not in the base installer.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Nguyen Duc Hieu
Comment

Ausdauersportler

macrumors 68030
Nov 25, 2019
2,744
2,769
The GPU die temperature sensor problem!
You all know that none of the modified BIOS versions for the Metal GPUs listed in the table on page #1 is able to provide the internal GPU temperature back correctly to be used by the iMacs internal Apple SMC software to control the (ODD) fan according to the GPU internal temperature.

To address this issue we recommended strongly to use a free software called Macs Fan Control.

A different solution has been described several times now and last week and was in the mood to reopen my iMacs again and did this simple mod.

I (carefully) separated the ODD temp sensor using my finger nails and placed it on the back side off the GPU sink (side by side with the sink temperature sensor). Then I used a simple and cheap two component epoxy alike glue and fixed the little sensor. During the first experimental phase I used just a 3M or Tesa strip to hold the sensor in place.

Just cut off the two cables in the near the sensor and exchange the cable ends with the plugs connecting the same colors simply together (grey to grey and black to black). So you can easily connect the original heat sink sensor to the ODD connector in the logic board and vice versa.

Doing this you have a working fan control again even when doing system upgrades or during the start phase. As you may have noticed the Macs Fan Control used before is a user land application and it is only working after primary login to your account.

I attached some pictures showing the Macs Fan Control in automatic (i.e. SMC) mode under full Valley load (WX4170) and the hardware mod.

Notes:
Please use Macs Fan Control (or a similar software) in any case as a fall back if the replaced internal sensor fails of the glue does not hold it properly. It is a nice tool to monitor what is going on internally. HW Monitor using the FakeSMC extensions gives you graphs and

The SCM comes in at nearly 55 C of the ODD sensor. This is late compared to my former settings starting at 40 C. There are some websites writing about normal GPU temps, so everything below 70 is perfect, everything below 80 tolerable. But keep in your mind that endless gaming is burning Rom your CPU ....

Having a powerful GPU (780M, K4100M, WX4170 etc) will burn 70-75W and cause this amount of heat.
 

Attachments

  • NoLoadTemps.png
    NoLoadTemps.png
    83.9 KB · Views: 676
  • LoadTemps.png
    LoadTemps.png
    886.8 KB · Views: 631
  • 95C8F4A5-70CF-4EDC-ACDF-7EE0703D9562.jpeg
    95C8F4A5-70CF-4EDC-ACDF-7EE0703D9562.jpeg
    491.9 KB · Views: 622
Last edited:
Comment
Register on MacRumors! This sidebar will go away, and you'll see fewer ads.