2011 iMac Logic Board Replacement

Discussion in 'iMac' started by stuuke, Jun 25, 2017.

  1. stuuke macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    #1
    Does anyone know what Apple charges to replace logic boards in older iMacs? I got a quote for $500 at a local repair shop. Any idea what the resale value is of 27" 3.4Ghz i7, 16gb ram, Radeon 6970M, 256ssd and 1tb drive.
     
  2. stuuke thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    #2
    I saw one other thread mentioned a logic board replacement program. Would that still be active?
     
  3. Hirakata macrumors 6502

    Hirakata

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2011
    Location:
    Burbank, CA
    #3
    I think $500 is good price. I want to say that Apple would charge around the $700 area. As far as resale, just see what they're going for on ebay.
     
  4. redheeler macrumors 603

    redheeler

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    #4
    $500-650 (probably toward the higher-end of that range thanks to the SSD and 16 GB RAM) is about what the entire Mac is worth (in working condition, of course). As for what Apple charges, afraid I can't answer that. But it shouldn't be too hard to find out for yourself.
    GPU replacement, not logic board; and sadly it's not still active.
     
  5. Taz Mangus macrumors 68040

    Taz Mangus

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    #5
    When I had my 2011 iMac Apple was going to charge $469 for a logic board replacement, if I remember correctly. Best advice is get a quote from a genius at the Apple Store.
     
  6. Quash macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2007
    #6
    I believe there was a replacement program for this model. We've had this model and had the insides swapped twice. Once outside of standard warranty (2y in EU). After the last time (when it was working properly again) we sold it. Doubt the replacement program is still active after 5 years but I would ask apple at least.
     
  7. stuuke thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    #7
    One last question. With the logic board failing would I be able to start the iMac in target mode and transfer the info off of the drives? The repair shop gave me the option of buying a used iMac and they would swap the drives but I'm considering buying a 2017 and just transferring the data if possible.
     
  8. Taz Mangus macrumors 68040

    Taz Mangus

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    #8
    Yes you could use target mode to transfer data off the computer.
     
  9. stuuke thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
  10. Taz Mangus macrumors 68040

    Taz Mangus

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    #10
    It could. The only way to ensure that you will recover the data is probably remove the hard drive from the computer, place it in an external enclosure and copy the data.

    When you use the computer how long does the computer stay up before it crashes?
     

Share This Page